Computer specification for play/edit HG10

Discussion in 'Camcorders, Action Cams & Video Making Forum' started by forestfan, Jan 30, 2009.

  1. forestfan

    forestfan
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    153
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi

    Iam still in the process of trying to choose a camcorder I have missed out on great deal for a Canon HV20 for about the same budget I can get hold of a
    HG10.

    I understand that the computer needs to have reaonable memory and speed and my computer is 4 years old now.

    I have the following XP home


    AMD athlon 64 processor 3500+

    2.19Ghz, 1.00 GB of Ram

    Vid Card: NVIDIA GeForce 6200 TurboCache

    Sound Card: Realtek AC'97 Audio

    is this sufficient enough as I do not want to start spending out more money once I have bought the camcorder?

    Thanks again for any help
     
  2. chrishull3

    chrishull3
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,024
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Yeovil
    Ratings:
    +282
     
  3. forestfan

    forestfan
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    153
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    DV tape it is then!

    I am not going to start buying PC's when mine is fine at the moment just for a camcorder.
     
  4. chrishull3

    chrishull3
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,024
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Yeovil
    Ratings:
    +282
    Tape is still good,but the lowest pc spec i have read that someone edited avchd with was dual core 2gb ram,but with low spec pc software is very inportant.
    My laptop is dual core 2ghz-250 gb hardrive-3gb ram-nvida 8880 graphcs card and it wont look at avchd,my desktop is a quad core and that stuggles[it could do avchd but its hassle so i convert my avchd to hdv tape.
     
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2009
  5. montybaber

    montybaber
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,061
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +276
    This is wierd I have a laptop with amd athlon dual 1.7 with 1 gb of ram and I manage to view and edit clips from my JVC HD3 fine :confused:

    am i just lucky?
     
  6. chrishull3

    chrishull3
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,024
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Yeovil
    Ratings:
    +282
    You are lucky monty do you record in the best quality mode.
     
  7. montybaber

    montybaber
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,061
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +276
    yes:confused::confused:

    I must admit it does occassionally playback a little jumpy but thats not really a problem, was looking at a new laptop anyway but there you go lol
     
  8. Mr Lazy

    Mr Lazy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,026
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Rochester, Kent
    Ratings:
    +144
    Surely the HD3 records in MPEG2 rather than AVCHD?
     
  9. zeroice

    zeroice
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    53
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +7
    get Windows 7 this summer and enjoy native AVCHD playback with minimal system resources ;)

    as far as editing goes, try hardware accelerated encoding (Premiere CS4+Quadro, Elecard/Canopus) or smart editing (Nero, Cyberlink, Canon bundled sw)
     
  10. montybaber

    montybaber
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,061
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +276
    hi there yes its mpeg 2
     
  11. forestfan

    forestfan
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    153
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    So with Widows 7 and bundled Canon software it could be possible with the PC I have?
     
  12. zeroice

    zeroice
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    53
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +7
    For playback on Win7 the HW you have will suffice.
    For editing, get another GFX card, preferably Nvidia 9800GT to benefit from CUDA (hardware acceleration using the stream processors).

    And add more RAM to the box while the prices are still rockbottom :) Go for 4 GB.

    The caveat with Canon's bundled SW is that it doesn't run (yet) on x64 systems. Therefore you will "see" only 3.5 GB out of the 4 on a x86 Windows OS. No big deal, Imagemixer does the job beautifully, it handles smart rendering better than anything on the market right now.

    Once Cyberlink gets their act together, Power Director will be a strong choice, but for now smart rendering AVCHD is weird. What works well in the latest version (2521) is the hardware accelerated feature (uses CUDA).

    Bottomline: get a new gfx card (9800GT) and more RAM.
    9800GT is sensible in price/performance, it's not worthed cashing out for a GTX260/280...use the spare cash for RAM/Processor for example.

    ------------------------
    I have a HG20 and AVCHD playback on a Core2Duo 8200 machine/Win7 is beautiful..less than 5% CPU load for 1080 material.
    Tested creating an AVCHD disc with Imagemixer 3SE v3 and works perfectly on the PS3. The menus are not bad and there is no quality loss, you can use DL disks as well.
     
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2009
  13. forestfan

    forestfan
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    153
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks for the advice zeroice
     

Share This Page

Loading...