computer says no

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by corsair, Feb 2, 2009.

  1. corsair

    corsair
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    49
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    help needed.
    shut down my acer aspire t180 Friday night o.k.
    switched on Saturday morning and wont start!first screen comes up before post screen saying acer and del:enter setup f12 :boot menu
    pressed f12 and f8 repeatedly and nothing happpens.
    put acer rescue disc in dvd drive spins up but still stuck at first screen .

    could the problem be , failed motherboard?
    failed harddrive ?
    failed processor
    or none of the above?
    running xp by the way:mad:
    have swapped memory and it doesnt make any difference.
    how do I get past this first screen?
    any ideas before I "BOOT" it out the window.


    thanks in advance
     
  2. tonytiger73

    tonytiger73
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +3
    I'd have thought most likely causes were motherboard or processor, or possibly the bios? Does it beep at all?

    Fairly certain it won't be the hard drive. I suppose it could even be power related.
     
  3. corsair

    corsair
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    49
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi Tony thanks for the reply forgot to say powersupply and processor fans runing,no beeps and indicator lights come on momentarily on key board .
    daft question , is bios built into motherboard because I cant seem to acess it as I cant get any further than this first screen:confused:
    cheers
     
  4. Abbadonuk

    Abbadonuk
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +5
    The BIOS lives on a chip which is part of the motherboard, and yes it is probably a failure of MB, CPU or RAM.

    If it won't boot at all past post "not even from a restore CD/DVD" then the BIOS is probably OK but one of these 3 things has died.
     
  5. corsair

    corsair
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    49
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi, computer now says YES

    fitted a new motherboard and every thing working fine. hope this helps anyone else as it seems a common problem through googling.
     
  6. JonRushton

    JonRushton
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    85
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +5
    A little too late now, but did you try to reset the bios by shorting the jumps or removing the bios battery?

    I've had that same problem before on a machine at work. Shoddy custom bioses that compaq and other such companies use have hissy fits every now and then.

    Jon
     
  7. corsair

    corsair
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    49
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi M8,
    Yes tried both of those and still no joy , so made a lucky guess with motherboard .

    thanks for your help though
     
  8. JonRushton

    JonRushton
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    85
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +5
    Ahh, no worries mate. glad you got it sorted.
     

Share This Page

Loading...