Computer Help - Keeps resetting itself!

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by ash, Aug 3, 2006.

  1. ash

    ash
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Messages:
    11,319
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +398
    I switch on the computer, then the Pentium sign comes up, then all the white writing (bios info I assume) then the Safe Mode Screen, to choose how you want to run Windows, I choose Normal & Safe Mode, it then goes to a blue screen (kernel error) for one second and then resets straight away, and then goes back to the same screen.

    Any idea what to do?
    I have to use another computer in the house, pretty worried something is wrong on the computer.
     
  2. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    24,577
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +13,389
    You don't say what OS you're using, but i'd try a repair on the install, assuming all your hardware is working 100%
     
  3. buzlightyear

    buzlightyear
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Messages:
    960
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +119
    have you recently added any new hardware or software? Blue Screens generally are bad news. If you have put new hardware in take it out, unplug any USB things and then try it again.
     
  4. HCK

    HCK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2002
    Messages:
    774
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +125
    try going into safe mode and choosing last known good configuartion.
     
  5. andykn

    andykn
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,733
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +232
    Try taking a photo of the error and putting the message in the microsoft support website. It should be something like stop 0x000000c6.

    Remove any new hardware you've added.

    Try removing a memory stick, if you've more than one.
     
  6. ash

    ash
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Messages:
    11,319
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +398
    Windows XP

    I tried repair from Windows XP CD but no luck, so used my Data Recovery Discs repair option and all back and running.
     

Share This Page

Loading...