computer crisis!

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by blue max, Apr 16, 2016.

Tags:
  1. blue max

    blue max
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    12,866
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +4,233
    Sorry guys, bit desperate to get my son's laptop working again as he needs some files off it to revise for an exam next week. I'm a mac man and this is windows 10 :eek:

    Basically it is in an endless loop of trying to fix itself and failing. I can't get it to boot up at all. Tried every option I can think of or google.

    I've reseated the hard drive and ram and it still can't fix itself.

    I've run checks on the ram/hard drive and all pass I think.

    I got to command prompt and ran something like fsc /checknow (from memory) which seemed to run, but then said it couldn't perform the requested action or something.

    Any simple pointers would be so much appreciated :smashin:
     
  2. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    22,893
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +11,035
    If data recovery is vital. Put the hard drive into an external USB caddy and then plug into working laptop. Retrieve files.
     
  3. blue max

    blue max
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    12,866
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +4,233
    Absolutely I would. If I had an external caddy and another pc :D


    I'm hoping to find out what needs to happen to get this working again really.
     
  4. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    22,893
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +11,035
    You got a Mac, its got Usb? So you're just a caddy away from recovering your data.

    I suppose it all depends on how important the data is.......
     
  5. nheather

    nheather
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    18,525
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Horsham, West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +8,384
    My PC has an eSata interface. If you know someone with similar then just plug the drive into it.

    Failing that if you know someone who builds their own PCs you could ask a favour - connect the disk onto a spare SATA - the MoBo will have spare sockets and he is bound to have a spare SATA lead.

    Cheers,

    Nigel
     
  6. BB3Lions

    BB3Lions
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    14,358
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +5,845
  7. balidey

    balidey
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,664
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,532
    May be a bit involved, but you can install Ubuntu onto a memory stick. Its an operating system that you can plug into the PC. You then get two options, install or trial.
    Use trial and then you will be able to scan the hard drive for all the files you need, save them onto the memory stick. I've done this a couple of times and got me info off of a 'broken' windows PC.
     
  8. razer1

    razer1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    918
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Leicester
    Ratings:
    +155
    if you've got a seagate goflex hdd about, the connector adapters work on 2.5" hdd's perfectly. Ive had to do this several times in the past.

    upload_2016-4-16_19-18-3.png
    This is what you need!
     
  9. nheather

    nheather
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    18,525
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Horsham, West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +8,384
    Good idea.

    Cheers,

    Nigel
     
  10. imightbewrong

    imightbewrong
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    52,076
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Romford-ish
    Ratings:
    +32,255
    To get the silly suggestion out the way - have you tried booting to safe mode? How far into boot does it get before restarting?
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  11. simonlewis

    simonlewis
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2014
    Messages:
    4,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    stockport
    Ratings:
    +1,587
    Agree with IMBW press F8 continuously and then boot in safe mode.
     
  12. RBZ5416

    RBZ5416
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    18,618
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +6,957
    I don't think Macs can read NTFS?, which is what a system drive is likely to be formatted as.
    F8 was disabled in W8 & is also absent from W10.

    @blue max If you don't have any success & can get it to St James's Park tube tomorrow, I should at least be able to get the required data off it. Drop me a PM if need be.
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    • List
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2016
  13. imightbewrong

    imightbewrong
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    52,076
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Romford-ish
    Ratings:
    +32,255
  14. BT Bob

    BT Bob
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,332
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Ratings:
    +1,078
    I believe MACs can read NTFS, but can't natively write to NTFS partitions. You can use a third-party application to enable this.
     
  15. RBZ5416

    RBZ5416
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    18,618
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +6,957
    That being the case then sourcing a USB caddy in London shouldn't be a problem, even on a Sunday.
     
  16. blue max

    blue max
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    12,866
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +4,233
    Hitting f4 goes into automatic repair and then back to the loop unfortunately.
     
  17. blue max

    blue max
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    12,866
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +4,233
    Thanks for all the suggestions guys, Everything just ends up at preparing automatic repair.

    Sourcing a caddy is a temporary fix, but I need to get his computer working again really. He uses it for school. The hard drive is an HP ssd which was newly fitted when I purchased the computer on the forum here. He had ordered it from the States I seem to remember, so not easy to get hold of.

    I also really need to diagnose the problem ideally.
     
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2016
  18. RBZ5416

    RBZ5416
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    18,618
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +6,957
    Get the data off & you can do a fresh install.
     
  19. blue max

    blue max
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    12,866
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +4,233
    I have pm'd you and if you are still able to meet me there, I'd like to take you up on your kind offer.

    Thank you.
    Graham
     
  20. blue max

    blue max
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    12,866
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +4,233
    Added some pics as its not a standard sata drive I think.
    Drive underneath is a regular sata drive.

    IMG_2399.JPG IMG_2400.JPG
     
  21. nheather

    nheather
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    18,525
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Horsham, West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +8,384
    The 'temporary fixes' were suggested because in your OP the priority seemed to be getting files off the drive so your son can revise for an exam next week.

    Given the importance of that I would have thought a caddy would have been a small price to pay.

    As for long term fix, you are most likely looking at a re-install.

    Cheers,

    Nigel
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  22. razer1

    razer1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    918
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Leicester
    Ratings:
    +155

    Looks like standard 2.5" drive to me from them pics.
     
  23. RBZ5416

    RBZ5416
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    18,618
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +6,957
    upload_2016-4-17_14-20-2.jpeg
     

    Attached Files:

  24. razer1

    razer1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    918
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Leicester
    Ratings:
    +155
    Oops! hadnt spotted that!

    Was on my phone when I looked at the pics lol....
     
  25. DVD-Man

    DVD-Man
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Messages:
    8,580
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ayrshire, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +1,932
    SSD still has same SATA connections.


    Sent from mTalk
     
  26. hippo99

    hippo99
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    16,027
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +9,094
    Don't SSDs usually come with some plastic adapters so you can use it with 2.5" & 3.5" bays? They're not even essential but provide a bit of 'padding' to fill out the difference in size.
     
  27. nheather

    nheather
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    18,525
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Horsham, West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +8,384
    Not always - my Samsung Evo didn't - but they are readily available and cheap.

    But to improve the airflow in my HTPC case I removed the whole disk cage framework and simply velcro'ed my SSD onto the side of the case.

    Cheers,

    Nigel
     
  28. phillyd1981

    phillyd1981
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2006
    Messages:
    2,563
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,465
    If you have access to a different pc you can make a usb or dvd windows 10 install disc put it in your son's laptop, boot into the disc after selecting the language thire is a option to repair this pc which will scan and repair any startup issues.

    The windows 10 creation tool is in the link below when you run the soft ware just ensure the version of windows 10 you select in the tools options match your laptops version (32 or 64bit and home/pro) or you can use the install media to reinstall windows.

    Windows 10
     
  29. blue max

    blue max
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    12,866
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +4,233
    Thanks everyone. Tried to buy a micro sata to usb cable and nowhere in London stocks them.

    He's taking it to the school IT department tomorrow to see if they can help.

    I tried!
     
  30. nheather

    nheather
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    18,525
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Horsham, West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +8,384
    Did you try downloading a USB version on Linux.

    Download and create a linux usb stick.

    Boot laptop from usb

    Copy files from hard disk to usb

    Cheers,

    Nigel
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice