Answered Composite input to HDMI output

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by dropKnee, Oct 17, 2017.

Tags:
  1. dropKnee

    dropKnee
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Wa
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi guys! I have a Yamaha RX-381-BL AV receiver output to a hdmi Samsung tv. I have 4 hdmi inputs and 1 rca composite input to the AVR from a karaoke dvd machine. I can’t get the video to display on my tv when selecting the karaoke input. Is there a setting I am missing? I am replacing an older Denon receiver that had no problem. Appreciate any feedback or advice. Thanks!
     
  2. Best Answer:
    Post #9 by Joe Fernand, Oct 17, 2017 (1 points)
  3. andy1249

    andy1249
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    Messages:
    8,606
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,654
    Yamaha 381 does not up convert video that is input on the composite jack to the HDMI output.
    To see composite video input on these jacks you must connect the composite video output to a compatible input on the TV if it has one.
     
  4. Dunners

    Dunners
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2015
    Messages:
    428
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Close By
    Ratings:
    +76
    In the Yamaha range you need the RXV681 and above to do what you're looking to do.
     
  5. dropKnee

    dropKnee
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Wa
    Ratings:
    +1
    Wow! Thanks guys! So what technical term do I look for for this feature? “Upconvert”? Or what model would you guys suggest that is in the affordable price range? This is for my great room tv that just has a 2.1 speaker set up. You guys are the best!
     
  6. andy1249

    andy1249
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    Messages:
    8,606
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,654
    The feature is usually called upconversion.
    This is different to upscaling.
    It means taking an analog video input and outputting it over HDMI.
    It normally works one way only hence the “ up “ as converting HDMI to analog is not allowed.
     
  7. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    28,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,542
    If your Display has a Composite Input take the Karaoke video direct to the Display and Karaoke audio direct to the AVR.

    If the Karaoke and TV both have S-Video or Component Video use those in preference to Composite video.

    Joe
     
  8. dropKnee

    dropKnee
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Wa
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks Joe, unfortunately, my tv is a heavy 75 inch Samsung which is mounted to the wall with cables running in the wall, so it will be kind of difficult for me to unmount the tv and fish the analog cable. It would be easier to purchase another receiver with the upconvert capability? Any suggestions on a model that will work? I just need an entry level model since this is a simple 2.1 set up. Thanks again!
     
  9. dropKnee

    dropKnee
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Wa
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks! i may just purchase another receiver with that capability.
     
  10. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    28,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,542
    Best Answer
    On-wall - understood, I take it going in via a Front Composite Input is not an option either?

    Converter - you can pick up relatively inexpensive Composite to HDMI converter (approx. $50) which would allow you to continue with your New AVR.

    Joe
     
  11. dropKnee

    dropKnee
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Wa
    Ratings:
    +1
    Composite to HDMI converter! Wow, great idea! i will order one and try it out! thanks again!
     

Share This Page

Loading...