Components vs scart

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by iaria, Jan 9, 2004.

  1. iaria

    iaria
    Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2003
    Messages:
    108
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Crawley,West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +0
    BTW I have a Pio 565 with components output and rgb scart
    if I can connect some how component out to scart (if there is such converter) will I get better picture by taking advantage of prog scan???
     
  2. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    unless your display can accept component video no it wont even work in PS or intelaced.
    A *FEW* displays accept component video over scart but check your manual most have dedicated component inputs.
     
  3. iaria

    iaria
    Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2003
    Messages:
    108
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Crawley,West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry Hornydragon, maybe I didnt make myself clear
    My display, 32inch philips can't remember what model,doesn't support prog scan, but I thought because components supposed to be better pic quality, somehow by connecting component out put to scart it might give me better picture
     
  4. mpdox

    mpdox
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0

    Hello iaria.

    I sure hope to receive myself the answer you're looking for...
    I have a pioneer 565-a and a jvc 32x37sue tv... I still regret the decision to not buy a component input tv, since everyone is talking how great it is... Not that I'm unhappy with the image, it's just the wonder/curiosity left.
    Since the component to rgb devices are quite expensive, I wonder if it will be an improvement in quality, for me it will be worth the price.

    Regards.
     
  5. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    unless the manual for your display states it supports component via a scart it will not work
    RGB is fine for 36" displays
     
  6. Spligsey

    Spligsey
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Messages:
    2,072
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +137
    Some Loewe TV's accept a YUV signal on AV3 socket (SCART)

    My Aconda 9381ZW does.

    I cant think of any others that do.

    Adz
     
  7. Warpaint

    Warpaint
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2003
    Messages:
    589
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +61
    Philips do not have component compatibitlity through scart.
    RGB interlaced will look as good as component interlaced anyway.
    As far as I know Loewe are the only manufacturers with component inputs on a scart socket (but even they don't look any batter than RGB scart).
     
  8. eeper

    eeper
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    61
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    OK, bit confused now.

    I was in Selfridges today and they sold a cable that had component at one end and a scart output. Is this merely going to downgrade the component signal to scart quality or will it retain its quality. Would it make any difference to plug it into an RGB enabled scart? How about the S-video to scart converters.

    The thing is that I've got a Sony DAV system with only component or S-video output. Most of the tvs I see have the S-video port on the front so I'd like to find a way of getting the signal into the back of the tv thru the RGB scart port. Apart from getting a component input tv (still quite hard to find) whats my best option?
     
  9. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    You are getting confused between video standards eg RGB and cables EG scart, for DAV system S-video is what to use TV's accept S-video on scart 2 and some have a menu otpion to enable it.
     
  10. eeper

    eeper
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    61
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks horny!

    :hiya:
     
  11. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    I must state that *most* TVs accept S-video in one scart normally 2 but not all do so check your manual.
     
  12. malaga

    malaga
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0

    spligsey: is a real component signal or is transfor to S-VIDEO?????????:confused: :confused: :confused:
     

Share This Page

Loading...