Component vs composite vs RF for 2nd TV?

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by diggerbarnes, Sep 2, 2007.

  1. diggerbarnes

    diggerbarnes
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Messages:
    141
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi, I am having Sky HD installaed later this month in the lounge. I have a second screen in the kitchen which is currently linked via RF (coaxial).

    I have the opportunity to chase in some new leads to the kitchen, to allow for the possibility of a small HD screen in future.

    So the question is:

    - should I stick with existing RF feed?
    - or go for SD composite video ?
    - or HD component ?

    And also would I notice the difference on a small screen anyway?

    Thanks!
     
  2. BrianPK

    BrianPK
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2004
    Messages:
    2,479
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +273
    Definitely component.imo......You will notice the diff. between HD andSD even if the impact isn't the same as with a large screen.
     
  3. TomUK

    TomUK
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Messages:
    25
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Runcorn
    Ratings:
    +1
    I would consider an HDMI cable,top quality and carries both audio and video signals.
     
  4. diggerbarnes

    diggerbarnes
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Messages:
    141
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yes I have been told component.

    Regarding HDMI the issue (correct me if I'm wrong) is that I am already using the HDMI lead for the main screen, this is a secondary output from the Sky HD box
     
  5. MSW

    MSW
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    Messages:
    6,779
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +681
    Thats right but you can use a HDMI splitter. Go the cheapest route.

    Cost of component and audio cables v the cost of HDMI cable and a splitter

    FYI I say a link on another forum for a splitter at £48.

    Finally you may also want to factor in the cost and time having to chase in 5 cables v one cable.

    Mark
     
  6. BrianPK

    BrianPK
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2004
    Messages:
    2,479
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +273
    You are absolutely right.I presume the splitter won't cause any deterioration in picture quality of the main flatscreen?
     
  7. MSW

    MSW
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    Messages:
    6,779
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +681
    The best way to answer the question is to say that the splitter should not cause any deteriation.

    For what it's worth I have 4 of these splitters.

    1 QED one RRP £315 1 x 4
    2 Cyruss (the one in the link) 1x 4 rrp approx £180
    3 Unbranded 1 x 4 from the states off E-Bay
    4 The 1 x 2 in the link.

    Neither of them cause any deteriation, however, none of them worked first time either. I needed to continiously unplug and change HDMI cables to get them to work and unplug replug in the power source.

    They all work fine now:hiya:

    I also use component out from one of my HD boxes and I can't tell any difference.

    Mark
     

Share This Page

Loading...