1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Component Video Switcher in UK

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by Insp.Gadget, Apr 16, 2003.

  1. Insp.Gadget

    Insp.Gadget
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    132
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    South East
    Ratings:
    +3
    After running into the problem of switching component video inputs of Sony DVD player, Gamecube, X-Box and PS2 into my ae300 I started to try and track down a suitable switcher. After using the search and reading a helluva :eek: lot of threads it boiled down to the Audio Authority 1154 but the thought of ordering from the US (i.e. copperbox) worried me a bit as did the $70 alledged shipping cost.
    Anyway I contacted them and he said they now have a supplier in the UK, and whadya now, they have ! It's Unicam but you wouldn't know they sell them from their web-site. if anyone is interested in one of these then get in touch with them on sales@unicamuk.co.uk , I spoke with Mark (surname escapes me) and he seemed very helpful. He said there is a shortage of parts at the moment so there's a lead time of about 5 weeks. The whole price comes in at about the same price on copperbox (if you assume $70 postage) but you've got the peace of mind of a UK supplier if it goes wrong, plus it's UK voltage.

    Hope this is of use to all those who were worried about getting one from the US a few months ago. I really like the look of it as it switches both digital audio flavours too, v. handy !

    P.S. I have no links to the companies mentioned above and if this breaks any forum rules or needs moving then by all means do so. :smashin:

    I couldn't attach an image as I couldn't make it small enough (10k, c'mon guys !!)

    Cheers
     
  2. Klippie

    Klippie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2002
    Messages:
    627
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +58
    Hi,

    Do a search for a JVC JX-S111, its a component switcher and it is not connected to the mains purely passive.

    You will have to import one though luckily they are not expensive even with the postage.

    I will hopefully have one soon when I get an XBox so to be able to connect my DVD and XBox to my projector.

    Klippie.
     
  3. Insp.Gadget

    Insp.Gadget
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    132
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    South East
    Ratings:
    +3
    Thanks Klippie, the JVC appeals more (I wonder why !!). I would be very interested in your comments on this once you've got it and who you order from, their service etc.
     
  4. Kramer

    Kramer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Most AV receivers have component switching (well at least my old Yamaha 630 & current Denon 3803 do), but from only two sources.

    How many component sources can this switch? How many peeps have more than 2 component output devices?

    :)
     
  5. Klippie

    Klippie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2002
    Messages:
    627
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +58
    Insp.Gadget,

    I will order a switchbox as soon as I find a cheap Xbox.

    Here is a link to the site in the US, I have already e-mailed them and they are willing to send out a unit no problem. The only thing they ask for is a scan of your credit card for security reasons.

    Type JX-S111 in the search.

    http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bh5.sph/FrameWork.class?

    By the way I e-mailed JVC UK about this switcher they never even answered my e-mail, please try them to see if you can get a response from them.

    Kramer,

    It looks like it will switch three inputs....

    http://store1.yimg.com/I/videoware_1734_75378

    A third component input might be..... Sky box to wireless tv link ( in living room ) to rgb-component converter then to HS10 ( in spare room ). Hopefully will give a better picture than composite video which works ok but not brilliant with the link.

    Cheers
    Klippie.
     
  6. Insp.Gadget

    Insp.Gadget
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    132
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    South East
    Ratings:
    +3
    Thanks for the info K.

    OK, I know this has been discussed time and time again, but does anyone see any reason why the below switchbox would not do an acceptable job assuming they confirm the audio connectors are 75ohm ? I e-mailed them about their switchbox that doesn't offer the optical audio switching (as I didn't know this one existed) and their response was...

    Dear Sir
    I have spoken to technical.All connections are 75ohm and can switch any line
    level audio.

    Assuming this model copes with 75ohm then can anyone see any downsides to using one of these as a component and s-video switcher. I know it won't offer fantastic quality, but then I'm not using mega expensive cables anyhow (does anyone know where to buy canare crimp connectors in this country ?).

    I'm tempted to blow the £180 on the Audio Authority but I've already spent far too much on the pj and DVD system.

    I'm not up on electronics at all, do the components have to be specially rated in order to take prog scan signals ?

    Any advice would be appreciated as I need to sort this switching malarky out.

    Switcher
     
  7. Klippie

    Klippie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2002
    Messages:
    627
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +58
    Good find, this being remote as well should be perfect for pronto control.

    If the connections are true 75 ohm there should be no problem with the signal quality.

    What is your set up out of curiosity....

    Klippie.
     
  8. Insp.Gadget

    Insp.Gadget
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    132
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    South East
    Ratings:
    +3
    Hopefully they'll confirm on Monday and I'll put an order in and let you know what it's like.

    My set-up isn't fantastic, built more around usability and aesthetics than out and out quality !

    Sony DAVS-880 (m/r) > Component progressive
    PS2 (waiting for component cables)
    X-Box > High Def component (waiting for cables)
    Gamecube > S-Video
    Panasonic AE300 80" wide onto Blackout Blind
    Will be testing home-made cables at the weekend, although not holding out much hope for them, my soldering sucks !

    Currently building retractable ceiling mount, will post pictures when finished ! :clap:
     
  9. Andy.T

    Andy.T
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2002
    Messages:
    1,644
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Sussex
    Ratings:
    +73
    How about this? I've been considering getting one of these for a while.

    They apparently will do the remote version without the remote for the same price as the non remote controllable one ($157). They quoted me $45 for delivery.

    How do people think the two units will compare? Unfortunately they do not have a UK distributor, but this doesnt bother me too much. The PDF manual on that link has the technical specs and the connections are 75 ohm, any other specs to look for, Frequency Response etc.?
     
  10. Insp.Gadget

    Insp.Gadget
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    132
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    South East
    Ratings:
    +3
    Perhaps we should arrange a power buy through the forum for either this or this , although I'd be more tempted by the AA one as for an extra $20 you get audio and automatic switching thrown in.
     
  11. Andy.T

    Andy.T
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2002
    Messages:
    1,644
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Sussex
    Ratings:
    +73
    Wow that AA one rocks, yup I'd be up for a powerbuy for sure.
     
  12. Klippie

    Klippie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2002
    Messages:
    627
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +58
    Andy Trump,

    That one looks really tidy, but I think I will stick to the JVC switcher its simple setup will do for me plus there are no electronics to interfere with the video signals.

    Klippie.
     
  13. Mark Grant

    Mark Grant
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2000
    Messages:
    1,357
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    East Yorkshire, England
    Ratings:
    +171
    Hello Klippie,

    That JVC switcher only has a 10MHZ bandwidth according to the specs.

    That is really poor.

    There are a few for sale on ebay.com (USA not UK) if you still want one.


    Might be worth getting the catalogue from http://www.compositevideo.co.uk

    An excellent range of switchers and distribution products, not all are really expensive.


    Mark.
     
  14. Klippie

    Klippie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2002
    Messages:
    627
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +58
    Hi Mark,

    I will have a look thanks.

    Just had a look at the specs for the JVC and your right it has 10Mhz bandwidth but on composite video. The component bandwidth is 30Mhz which is good enough for HDTV so it will be fine for my setup.

    Have a look here...

    http://www.svideo.com/com3.html

    Klippie.
     
  15. Respectamonkeee

    Respectamonkeee
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2002
    Messages:
    512
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Aylesbury...where the Ducks live!!
    Ratings:
    +0
  16. Andy.T

    Andy.T
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2002
    Messages:
    1,644
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Sussex
    Ratings:
    +73
    Aye I've had a look at those, very versatile and I'm sure they are top notch but out of my budget.
     
  17. Insp.Gadget

    Insp.Gadget
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    132
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    South East
    Ratings:
    +3
    Klippie, you have a PM.;)
     
  18. Klippie

    Klippie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2002
    Messages:
    627
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +58
    Insp.Gadget,

    You have a relpy.

    Klippie.
     
  19. Kramer

    Kramer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Another thread about this here - might be of benefit :)
     
  20. Andy.T

    Andy.T
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2002
    Messages:
    1,644
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Sussex
    Ratings:
    +73
    I'm not a technical whiz but I think those ones would be classed as unsuitable for component video switching as they are not optimised for video signals (they are stereo phono plus composite)?

    Presumably only the composite (if any of the connectors) is 75ohm, and people seemed to be saying that was important.

    That said they seem happy enough with them.
     
  21. Klippie

    Klippie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2002
    Messages:
    627
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +58
    Kramer,

    I had seen the Maplin audio/video switcher a while back in the Maplin shop and to be quite truthful it was cheap and nasty pretty poor actually.

    I still feel the JVC switcher is the best value for money.

    Klippie.
     
  22. Respectamonkeee

    Respectamonkeee
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2002
    Messages:
    512
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Aylesbury...where the Ducks live!!
    Ratings:
    +0
    Wots the cheapest price for the JVC JX-S111 you guys have seen?

    i've found it for $74.99 from here http://www.etronics.com/product.asp?stk_code=jvcjxs111

    Im tmepted now as i have 2 dvd's and a xbox to connect to my HS10.....im lacking 1 component input.....

    so im very tempted.....
     
  23. Insp.Gadget

    Insp.Gadget
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    132
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    South East
    Ratings:
    +3
    That is the cheapest I've seen it too, but Etronics won't ship internationally. I think the only place I've found that will, is B&H Photo who want $79 for the JVC and $52 for shipping.
    Why oh why doesn't anyone sell it in this country ?!!:mad: :mad:
     
  24. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Guys contact JVC UK and see if they would import/supply a limited number and power buy or try and get dealer to do a deal on shipping say 10 units! Look for an EU dealer for less hassle!
     
  25. Klippie

    Klippie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2002
    Messages:
    627
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +58
    hornydragon,

    I've tried mate they will not reply to my e-mails. They cant even have the excuse of the 110v-240v difference because it uses no power.

    Klippie.
     
  26. Insp.Gadget

    Insp.Gadget
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    132
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    South East
    Ratings:
    +3
    OK, I'm going to fire an e-mail or two off to them now, if anyone else who is after one could do the same perhaps they might get the hint ? Here's hoping............
     
  27. Respectamonkeee

    Respectamonkeee
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2002
    Messages:
    512
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Aylesbury...where the Ducks live!!
    Ratings:
    +0
    Wots there email addy???


    i feel a letter coming on ;)
     
  28. Klippie

    Klippie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2002
    Messages:
    627
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +58
    Might as well send them another e-mail too.

    Don't hold your breath chaps.......

    Klippie.
     
  29. Insp.Gadget

    Insp.Gadget
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    132
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    South East
    Ratings:
    +3
    It's Info@jvc.co.uk .

    Gotta love the way we in the UK get everything last but pay twice as much for it.
     
  30. Bada Bing

    Bada Bing
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2001
    Messages:
    530
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +5
    I'm going to go for the JVC I think. Great value for money compared with many ludicrously priced ones I've seen.
     

Share This Page

Loading...