Component Video Input

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by Saints FC, Jan 4, 2007.

  1. Saints FC

    Saints FC
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    46
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +0
    Should I buy Component Video Input cables and will they improve the
    picture quality?

    Currently I have a Toshiba RDXS32 DVD Recorder plugged in via RGB scart
    into a Tosh 36ZP38 CRT. ( Digi box plugged in via scart).

    On progressive scan mode on both it already looks spot on but if it makes it better I'm happy to spend some cash.

    If the answer is yes can someone recommend a brand and supplier please

    PS What does the Y , PB/CB, PR/CR on the Component video sockets stand for?

    Ps If these are regular questions and I appologise in advance, I am a twunt when it comes to technology!

    Many Thanks - Paul
     
  2. bsuttie

    bsuttie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,545
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +206
    RGB and component offer similar quality, so if you already have decent quality cables and are happy with the result I would save your money.

    RGB carries separate Red Green and Blue signals.

    The Y in Y, PB, PR or Y, CB, CR signifies luminance, i.e the black and white image with no colour information.

    PB or CB is the blue colour difference signal i.e. B-Y
    PR or CR is the red colour difference signal i.e. R-Y

    You can matrix from RGB to component and vice versa.

    For more info see here

    regards

    Brian
     
  3. Saints FC

    Saints FC
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    46
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Brian.

    The rgb into scart was probably just a cheap one would a "better quality" (?) one of them make a difference?

    Having been told that if I had Components Inputs on both DVD and TV by a
    self confessed AV expert I thought I'd better check on here.
    ( Mind you the same chap said LCD would now be better quality than CRT
    and imho it didnt look it in Currys!)

    Cheers - paul
     
  4. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    28,609
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,497
    Hello saintsfc

    If you use the SCART (RGB) Output of the Player your Outputting an Interlaced signal – no matter what you set the ‘Progressive’ mode to; the Display will be doing the Deinterlacing.

    If you connect using the YPbPr Output of the Player you can Output Interlaced or Progressive and see if the Player is ‘better’ than the Display.

    Best regards

    Joe
     
  5. Saints FC

    Saints FC
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    46
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +0
    HI Joe

    Thanks for that. I didnt know I was getting an interlaced signal
    with RGB.

    I'll try the component and report back if there is a difference.

    PS How do you change it from interlaced to progressive once you have the
    component inputs attached?


    Cheers- Paul
     
  6. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    28,609
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,497
    Hello Saints FC

    I don't know the Menu options on your Player but usually there is a Progressive On/Off option in the Video set-up menu - then again I've just noticed you have a CRT so its inherently an 'Interlaced' monitor so it may not accept a Progressive signal anyway on its YPbPr 'Component' Inputs.

    Best regards

    Joe
     
  7. Saints FC

    Saints FC
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    46
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Joe

    The Tosh 36ZP38 has progressive and sorry I was being thick regards the DVD's progressive mode.......it has a button marked, er..progressive!

    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Anways got my component leads form er.......B&Q yesterday...Materplugs £12......couldnt wait, SORRY!

    But it does make a big difference. Set DVD & TV to progessive and
    the colours are really defined, ( without saturation). Plus the depth
    is also noticable, even my missus commented without prompting.

    Cheers and Thanks for the advice.
     
  8. Nope

    Nope
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +4
    I know this is a old topic, but i just now entered in this world of digital tech :D, and now i have a simple question i bought a new hd ready LG 32LB75, and i also have this dvd http://www.denver-electronics.com/pages/visnyhed.asp?newsguid=16614&menuGuid=, since the dvd is not one of the latest, i just spend money on the tv and like to get more from it before changing for another (when more income is available), i put them together with a scart because it was the only cable i had, and the image is a pain to see, so here goes my question the tv has this connections:

    TV
    Y PB PR

    DVD
    Y CB CR

    if i use this connection could i take more quality from it, and what kind of cable is needed?

    Help appreciated
     
  9. Nope

    Nope
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +4
    Sorry for being a pain guys but if i use this cable could i get any improvements http://www.consumer.philips.com/consumer/en/sa/consumer/cc/_productid_SWV3505_93_SA_CONSUMER/Component-Video-Cable+SWV3505-93

    thanks once again.
     
  10. davepuma

    davepuma
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    17,536
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,506
    The component cable might get you a marginally better picture and should give you progressive scan. As it is an old machine, I wouldn't spend too much but remember YpBpR component only carries video so you will need a separate audio cable (Stereo - RCA phono red/white analogue). A HDMI player can be bought for less than £50 these days e.g. philips 5960 so I wouldn't spend too much on this player.
     
  11. Nope

    Nope
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +4
    Thank you very much!:thumbsup:
     

Share This Page

Loading...