Component video connection cable problems

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by brian mcsweeney, Nov 8, 2004.

  1. brian mcsweeney

    brian mcsweeney
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have recently purchased and LG RE44SZ21RD DLP tv and I'm reasonably happy with it so far.
    However, I do seem to have one problem which I can't seem to resolve and wonder if anyone could help or point me in the right direction.
    I've connected JVC component video cables from my my LG DVD/video recorder to my LG tv, but components 1 and 2 on the telly are saying they are not receiving any component signal and the DVD player is not recognised on the tv. I haven't got a clue as to where I may be going wrong.
    The cables are in their correct colour coded inputs and are securely positioned. I have no other SCART connections from the DVD player.
    Can anyone help?
     
  2. roym

    roym
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2002
    Messages:
    67
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    hi brian,

    check to see if the scart output of the dvd player is set to RGB, if it is select composite or s video as some dvd players cannot output component and RGB at the same time.
     
  3. NonPayingMember

    NonPayingMember
    Previously Liam @ Prog AV

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,523
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +830
    Are you sending "component video" signal or have you just tried using a scart to phonos lead??? If so a scart to phonos lead only works where the scart socket of the source device is actually able to send out component video in the first instance (very rare - most send RGB).
     
  4. brian mcsweeney

    brian mcsweeney
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for your help guys. The DVD definitely has component video capabilities but in the DVD set up menu there doesn't seem to be an option to choose s-video, component or RGB. Any ideas where I can find this?
     
  5. roym

    roym
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2002
    Messages:
    67
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    unfortunatly brian i am not familier with LG menus, is there not a video or tv section in the menu this is where you would normaly find these options, if not then it would seem to be a hardware problem, could you not try a freinds dvd player or try your player on a freinds, just a thought :rolleyes:
     
  6. Oakleyspatz

    Oakleyspatz
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Messages:
    3,684
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Woking
    Ratings:
    +230
    The option to select output is usually within the 'picture' menu. But looking at the service manual online for the LG DV6900( a DVD/VCR combo with component), it doesn't mention this which leads me to believe it auto selects the best output connected ( component in this case)
    Try checking the Special Menu and then the Main Input option. Select Component 1 and insure the cables are plugged into the row of component inputs on the left of the two sets on the rear.
     
  7. Oakleyspatz

    Oakleyspatz
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Messages:
    3,684
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Woking
    Ratings:
    +230
    I meant on the TV for this bit !!!
     
  8. brian mcsweeney

    brian mcsweeney
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Fixed the problem, which I suppose I'm partly to blame for.

    Although I would put some of the blame onto LG and their rotten instruction manual which fails to tell you that at the back of the unit there is actually a tiny switch which gives you the option of RGB or Component. Switch it to component and hey presto!
    Surely it would have made much more sense and be a much more user-friendly option if this was available in the DVD's on-screen menu. Or am I just daft?
    Thanks for all your help everyone.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice