component video cables

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by jubbly, Jul 12, 2001.

  1. jubbly

    jubbly
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a toshiba tv & dvd which both have component video inputs and outputs respectively.
    The tv manual says to use phono leads and audio t have recomended 3 separate rca to rca profigold interconnects at a tenner each, are these the same things ?
     
  2. General Skanky

    General Skanky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2000
    Messages:
    4,253
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Colchester
    Ratings:
    +44
    Yes they are.
    RCA is phono.
    The only question is how good those leads are?
    Most likely a big improvement on basic, bog standard ones.
     
  3. jubbly

    jubbly
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    does anyone know if component video is any better than rgb through my scart, will i notice the difference ?
     
  4. ISCM

    ISCM
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    All I can say is that Sun computers use Component and not RGB like a normal PC and they have a very sharp picture.
    Regarding Phono leads, the requirement is more like a digital or video lead (RF frequencies with very good screening and 75 ohm termination), so about £25 + would be normal to get the best picture. I would imagine that the leads should be identical.
    In the context of your TV and DVD, spending £75-£100 to get the best picture out of them would seem money well spent. I am sure your dealer could advise you of this and possibly lend you a set.

    [ 12-07-2001: Message edited by: ISCM ]
     
  5. jubbly

    jubbly
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have just tried my dvd with my profigold interconnects at a tenner each and a ten quid vivanco co-axial lead for the dolby digital sound and it looks and sounds pretty damm good to me - £40 all in, not a bad deal i reckon.
    Correct me if i'm wrong but i don't think i would notice any difference if i spent loads more money on expensive leads.
     
  6. museumsteve

    museumsteve
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    7,994
    Products Owned:
    4
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Nth Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +1,105
    I recently got my Pioneer 939-A and had to change from Optical to phono's to get DVD Audio...Using the cheaper (yet alright) quality cables...I found that I had some interference from a TV station and if turned up loud enough I could hear a TV reception..I went out and picked up a set (three pairs) of Audioquest cables and now the signal is crystal and not a hint of interference...The Audioquests were fairly pricey at around £80 a set...but I didn't think it was worth skimping onleads after spending on my DVD and amp..(Denon AVCA1SE)...
     
  7. Reiner

    Reiner
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2000
    Messages:
    3,316
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Germany
    Ratings:
    +13
    Jubbly, it depends very much on your other equipment if more expensive cables are worth it or not.

    For the former question: the difference between RGB and Component (if any) would be hard to notice unless you have eagle-eyes.
     
  8. Lowrider

    Lowrider
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I use component video through my scart, before I used RGB.
    It is like changing from TV to Photos... the color and the background detail improved a lot...

    I have Arcam DV-88 with Loewe Vitros.
     
  9. museumsteve

    museumsteve
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    7,994
    Products Owned:
    4
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Nth Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +1,105
    you haven't confused composite with component there have you..??
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice