Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Component via scart

Discussion in 'General TV Discussions Forum' started by Jbev, Dec 1, 2004.

  1. Jbev

    Jbev
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Messages:
    140
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +4
    I read recently, on the forums, that some scarts output component (the new Netgem STB springs to mind). Anyway, what am I looking for on the scart terminal that will tell me if it accecpts component through scart?

    The model no. of my telly is KV28FX66.

    Any help would be appricated.

    Thanks
     
  2. TV Headache

    TV Headache
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    242
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Are you sure that you're not confusing component with composite?
    Scart interfaces (such as the one on your FX66) are designed to handle RGB, S-video and composite. Only TVs with dedicated component input connections can handle that kind of video signal.
     
  3. red16v

    red16v
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2004
    Messages:
    552
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    Hi, refer to page 22 of your manual. It confirms, as TVHeadache says, that your scart connectors work, when using 'component mode', with RGB. Regards, yt.
     
  4. jasi

    jasi
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Messages:
    325
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +4
    Actually, I have a cheap 17" LCD TV which accepts HDTV via the scart socket. I haven't seen that before though, I don't think its too common.
     
  5. jasi

    jasi
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Messages:
    325
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +4
    Sorry, and more to the point, it has the component markings pointing towards the scart socket, Y - Pb - Pr.
     
  6. cerebros

    cerebros
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Messages:
    1,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Leicester
    Ratings:
    +29
    Incorrect. Certain Loewe CRT TV's can accept component input via SCART.
     
  7. TV Headache

    TV Headache
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    242
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK, I stand corrected on that point but Jbev, be assured that your the SCARTs on your FX66 (like 99% of TV scart sockets) does not handle Component, only the video formats defined in the CENELEC SCART standard...
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice