1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Component - VGA Quality Issues

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by Mr_Wistles, Jun 4, 2004.

  1. Mr_Wistles

    Mr_Wistles
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    Messages:
    11,795
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,955
    Hello everyone, your advice please.

    I have a denon 2900 which I feed via qed signature component into my denon 3805 amp. I then use a component to vga from the 3805 to my pw6. My question is will I get a better picture if I bypass the 3805 and go straight to the screen ? If so will the quality difference be significant.

    Thanks for looking, Russ
     
  2. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    24,441
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,594
    Hello Russell

    Surely you have all the tools you require to answer your own question :) - disconnect the 3RCA to HD15 cable from the AV Receiver and plug it into the DVD; you then have the DVD connected directly to the screen and you can see if it looks any better or not.

    Best regards

    Joe
     
  3. Mr_Wistles

    Mr_Wistles
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    Messages:
    11,795
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,955
    No, I do not have the tools. My plasma only has vga. If I see a significant difference I will invest in the component board.
     
  4. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    24,441
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,594
    Hello Russell

    Not sure why you think you don't have the 'tools' to do this test - the 3RCA to HD15 cable you already have in the system can be connected to either your AV Receiver or your DVD for YUV component.

    As you say once you've carried out the test you may want to add an additional board and cable to your set-up to run two YUV inputs to the display.

    Best regards

    Joe
     
  5. Mr_Wistles

    Mr_Wistles
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    Messages:
    11,795
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,955
    Sorry not that clued up on the lingo. I can only plug VGA into the plasma. I want to know if using component would be better. I cannot test this as the plasma has no component.

    Sorry if I am being stupid.
     
  6. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    ohhhh..... you want to know whether component input to the screen is better than VGA?
     
  7. Mr_Wistles

    Mr_Wistles
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    Messages:
    11,795
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,955
    Yes I only have vga so would it be worth buying the extra board
     
  8. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    24,441
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,594
    Hello Russell

    Your already sending YUV Component from your AV Receiver to your Plasma - Interlaced for most sources and Progressive from your DVD player (assuming you have it configured correctly!).

    The HD15 (VGA) socket on your display accepts RGB or YUV - you just need the correct cable; which you already have.

    If you simply plug the DVD directly to the 3RCA to HD15 cable you will be able to see if avoiding the AV Receiver makes a difference or not.

    If it looks better avoiding the AV Receiver then you can simply add in an additional YUV board and an extra cable.

    You'll also then get Picture in Picture modes into the bargain.

    Best regards

    Joe
     
  9. Mr_Wistles

    Mr_Wistles
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    Messages:
    11,795
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,955
    Cheers Joe, understand now. Will have a crack at that when I get home.

    Thanks a lot

    Russell
     

Share This Page

Loading...