1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Component -> VGA converter

Discussion in 'Shopping, Deals, Discounts & Bargains' started by gizlaroc, Apr 30, 2003.

  1. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,695
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +606
    I just ordered a component -> vga converter from HERE to use on my sony crt with my xbox.

    Well it arrived and it is basically a Key-digital KD-CTCA2, LINK , it looks the same does the same thing, and even calls itself a KD-CTCA2 in the user manual.


    the price $49us !!!!!

    ordered with the official hi-def pack (xbox) and a Gamecube 12v car adapter and it cost me $130 including 3 day insured shipping.

    Before anyone asks, the quality if superb, I can't tell the difference between this and the key digital.
     
  2. Oddbodd

    Oddbodd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Messages:
    987
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Sunny Tyneside :)
    Ratings:
    +51
    Thanks for the tip Gizlaroc, am I right in thinking you have an imported x-box? I have been looking for something like this for a while but my x-box and cube are both pal so am I right in thinking it's not worth me going for hi-def. packs? Any advice would be welcome.
    Cheers Oddbodd...................
     
  3. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
    It's still worth looking at the nigh-def packs just for the component output that they give.

    If you have the RGB advcanced pack, then it's probably not worth it though.
     
  4. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,695
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +606
    I have a Pal xbox that i fitted an Xecuter II in.

    then used video mode select disc to set it to NTSC.

    I would say that it really depends on what display device you are using.

    If you are using a crt tv then the difference will be small, but noticable.

    using a lcd or dlp and it will be fairly noticable but remember they all de-interlace anyway so it wont be a massive jump, same sort of thing with a plasma as well.

    if you are using a crt projector then definitely get rid of your pal systems and get progressive and hdtv through it :)

    remember that this isn't just line doubling but there is more infomation there, Zelda in 480p mode is better than ntsc out and then through my quadscan, not vastly better but definitely better.
    I have lent all my games out but cant wait to try out 720p on the xbox.


    Also with the JVC D-Theater now at $480 in the states I thought I would order this converter and if it was any good I may tempt myself with a bit of 1080i film viewing.
     
  5. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,976
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,779
    I've been to the site and cannot find a link for the device you are talking about. Can you cut and paste the url?

    Gordon

    P.S. What is your PJ?
     
  6. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
  7. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,695
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +606
    I think they have removed it Gordon, it did seem a little to close to the key-digital product for comfort.

    maybe they company making (copying) them have had there wrists slapped.


    my projector ??? sony 1271, but I am thinking about swapping for a 1208 if I go for the D-Theater machine.
     
  8. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,976
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,779
    Not sure if 1271 has 1080i capability. I'm sure your PJ supplier can tell you though.

    The price you paid for the thing is less than a third of what they cost me at distributor price! I have to say now that I have informed Key Digital USA that there may be a fraud taking place. (they might be OEM'd for them but who knows)

    Gordon
     
  9. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,695
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +606
    I have to say that they were under the misc. section of the website and now they seem to have been removed.

    very strange.
     
  10. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,976
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,779
    Key Digital had already started litigation against them it seems.......

    Gordon
     

Share This Page

Loading...