1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Component to PS2

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by tamthetim, Jan 18, 2005.

  1. tamthetim

    tamthetim
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    478
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Perth
    Ratings:
    +6
    going to buy a PS2 to see what it looks like on the plasma................hooking it up with component through my AV amp, already got a digital cable for sound.....................but can't find a PS2 to componet advertised cable, i've been looking at tvcables.co.uk site.....options as far as i can see:

    1)IXOS XPP04 - Playstation to 5x Phono Cable - Component Video & Audio - 2m................ do i use this and drop the audio cables.

    2)Ixos XPP02 - PlayStation to 3 RCA Cable - Stereo Audio & Video - 2m........or do i use this even though it talks about audio and video

    link..........
    http://www.tvcables.co.uk/cgi-bin/t...group/se=Gaming Cables/op=eq.html?id=qGtZt9Tw

    cheers, tam
     
  2. BALLISTIX

    BALLISTIX
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    115
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
  3. tamthetim

    tamthetim
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    478
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Perth
    Ratings:
    +6
    anyone?
     
  4. BALLISTIX

    BALLISTIX
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    115
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Answers.

    1) Yes, you could.
    2) This is crappy composite, not component.

    But why not get the cable I pointed out? £4 Vs £24, it's your call.

    Andy.
     
  5. tamthetim

    tamthetim
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    478
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Perth
    Ratings:
    +6
    Thanks Ballistix

    I know that cable would work....................but you're buying 2 extra RCA cables that aren't needed cause you've got a digital cable for audio.

    Doesn't anybody majke a PS2 to 3 RCA (component only)?

    Also i would always buy a better quality cable such as the IXOS over a standard cable.

    Thanks for repling though.

    Cheers, Tam
     
  6. insanity

    insanity
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    hmm i live in australia and all our playstations come with ps2 to 3rca standard. so i was wondering wat u have on urs if u dont have this. also there about $15aus so im guessing around £5. if u look on ebay they will have them fo sure.
     
  7. nobbydog

    nobbydog
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Messages:
    262
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Comfy basket in the utility room
    Ratings:
    +2
    Well, I've recently linked up my PS2 with a cheap component type cable (yes, the type with the 2 audio leads, but I just leave those off and use an optical cable for sound through the amp) and the difference in pq is simply stunning over the crappy composite lead. If you are unsure I'd suggest buying the £5 cheapo and if, like me, you are well impressed, theres no need to buy the IXOS. Easily the cheapest cable in my set-up and I won't be buying an Ixos.
     
  8. xavk1

    xavk1
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    561
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +36
  9. tamthetim

    tamthetim
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    478
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Perth
    Ratings:
    +6
    Thanks for the info guys.............the Monster lead is the type i'm looking for................................only problem is it's 10 feet long and you have to import them!

    Can't believe more companies don't make PS2 to 3 RCA component cable in the UK.

    Might just buy the IXOS and leave two unconnected.

    Cheers,Tam
     
  10. t1grm

    t1grm
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I thought the PS2 only had composite video. Can you convert composite to component just using a cable?

    So a component PS2 cable would have the proprietary Sony connector going to 5 RCA’s (R-G-B and Audio L & R?)
     
  11. tamthetim

    tamthetim
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    478
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Perth
    Ratings:
    +6
    Yes, but if you have an AV amp, use the digital audio in for sound.
     

Share This Page

Loading...