1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Component to HDMI

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by Talivar, Jun 27, 2005.

  1. Talivar

    Talivar
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2005
    Messages:
    32
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    my prob is i just got a xbox with the hd component leads but my TV is a toshiba 27wl56 and has a HDMI input, is there any way i can connect these? maybe some converter.
    Thx in advance for any help.
     
  2. Stephen Neal

    Stephen Neal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2003
    Messages:
    6,080
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +681
    HDMI is a digital-only interface. The XBox is analogue output only.

    If your TV doesn't have component inputs, then you would need some kind of analogue->digital converter - which isn't going to be a cheap "tenner for a cable" solution.

    (Also don't be confused by DVI - which unlike HDMI can carry analogue and digital video in some flavours. HDMI is digital only)
     
  3. AML

    AML
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,988
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Ratings:
    +229
    Agree with SN here. HDMI is digital only and uses HDCP copy protection. Component is analog.

    Are u sure your display doesnt have a component input? Thats weird considering it has HDMI!

    Component is just as good as HDMI, only analog. It CAN handle higher resolutions like 480p or 720p.
     
  4. Talivar

    Talivar
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2005
    Messages:
    32
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    nope dosnt have the component input slots, has a vga slot tho and i think i read u can do component to vga ?
     
  5. Stephen Neal

    Stephen Neal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2003
    Messages:
    6,080
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +681
    Yep - VGA is analogue R,G,B,H,V, and component is analogue Y+S,Pr,Pb - and conversion between the two formats shouldn't involve a major quality drop. (The sync standards are different - VGA carries separate H+V syncs, Component uses mixed syncs summed carried on the Y signal - and you have to matrix the YPrPb to RGB).

    If the TV can cope with 720p or 1080i spec inputs via its VGA input (and isn't limited to 4:3 PC resolutions - like 800x600, 1024x768 etc.) then an analogue converter should do the trick.
     
  6. Dutch

    Dutch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,562
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +257
  7. supermackem

    supermackem
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    2,060
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    sunderland
    Ratings:
    +71
    I have this tv and use my usa xbox on it. I use the vdigi vga adapter component to vga. Only thing is the tv will only take 480p over vga anything higher and you get a green picture.:(
     
  8. scumball

    scumball
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    6,209
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Harrow - London
    Ratings:
    +410
  9. supermackem

    supermackem
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    2,060
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    sunderland
    Ratings:
    +71
    Yep tried that also leaves you with a green screen on 720p and 1080i. This seems to be a problem some people are finding yet toshibas nots so helpful help line said nope nothing wrong with the tv xbox and some other game station thingy isnt compatablie lmao. They really dont have a clue.
     

Share This Page

Loading...