Component Set-top box

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by stuartsjg, Apr 5, 2004.

  1. stuartsjg

    stuartsjg
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi, does anybody know of any sky or freview boxes that output component video?

    All do RGB which is derrived from the component MPEG stream so i guess there must be some avaliable that output it too.

    thanks,
    Stuart.
     
  2. CARLOS

    CARLOS
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2001
    Messages:
    6,005
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    WEST MIDLANDS
    Ratings:
    +1,233
    I think the Netgem is the only one to output Component ?
     
  3. AOD

    AOD
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2001
    Messages:
    710
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +4
    Yes the Netgem is presently the only box that can output component video.

    Currently going for the amazing price of £49.99 (+VAT) with a keyboard included from Makro.
     
  4. stuartsjg

    stuartsjg
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  5. cwick

    cwick
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2002
    Messages:
    2,207
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +95
    The netgem iPlayer can output component - there's a setting in the menus. I know this to be true, since I have used said option. You need a Scart to component cable (straighthrough, passive cable, not one of those syncblaster jobbies).
     
  6. Clint C

    Clint C
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    420
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Wiltshire UK
    Ratings:
    +4
    Bit cheeky I know but can some kind soul get one of the Netgem boxes from Makro, send it onto me and I'll pay them for their trouble? :thumbsup:

    Cheers
    Clint.
     
  7. cerebros

    cerebros
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Messages:
    1,190
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Leicester
    Ratings:
    +11
    It outputs the component signal from the main RGB SCART out. You need a special SCART in order to output it, such as QED's AV29 . Having had a Netgem box I can confirm that component is one of the output signal options
     
  8. AOD

    AOD
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2001
    Messages:
    710
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +4
    Where in the country are you?
     
  9. Clint C

    Clint C
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    420
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Wiltshire UK
    Ratings:
    +4
    AOD, Chippenham, Wlitshire.

    Clint.
     
  10. supersonic87

    supersonic87
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    286
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Swansea, Wales
    Ratings:
    +2
    Just a reminder that the offer finishes wednesday.
     
  11. Clint C

    Clint C
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    420
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Wiltshire UK
    Ratings:
    +4
    Oh bugger :oops:

    :lease:
     
  12. bowlhead2000

    bowlhead2000
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Messages:
    44
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    BT do an ownbranded equivalent of the netgem box, for 64.50 which was a great bargain until the netgem ones appeared at Makro.

    BT have a couple of models - but the one you want is the interactive one (has a phone cable to do caller id on your TV/projector screen when the phone rings, and also for dial-up internet on your TV/projector screen). The cheaper model they sell doesn't do component so you have to get this one really, the other features are just a bonus. Also the netgem/BT boxes have a USB port so you can plug in a network adaptor and have do the internet on your TV via a broadband ethernet connection, fun...

    I've had the BT box for about a month now, the picture via my AE100 projector is great. Also does digital audio output (optical).

    Cheapest place I've found for good scart-to-component cables is

    http://www.tvcables.co.uk/cgi-bin/t...d_group/se=Scart Leads/op=eq.html?id=gUCz9pQR
     
  13. Clint C

    Clint C
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    420
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Wiltshire UK
    Ratings:
    +4
    Cheers guys, I may be able to borrow a Makro card later on today so will then whizz along to the shop to get me a box... :clap:

    P.S. sorry for the thread hijack :blush:
     
  14. Clint C

    Clint C
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    420
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Wiltshire UK
    Ratings:
    +4
    Yay, I got one... :clap:
     
  15. serdar13

    serdar13
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2003
    Messages:
    90
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I picked one up yesterday too. Initial thoughts of it are good.

    Will be trying out various audio and video formats off usb hard drive tonight. Will post my findings.
     
  16. Bada Bing

    Bada Bing
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2001
    Messages:
    530
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +5
    That's a freeview box though, yeah? So there aren't any Sky boxes that do it? :(
     
  17. David PluggedIn

    David PluggedIn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    544
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +10
    correct - Sky boxes all have compostite and RGB, while some also have Svideo as well. In terms of quality then RGB is of course the best and can deliver great results if your display is able to support it.
    cheers
     
  18. Goonboy

    Goonboy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2002
    Messages:
    113
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +3
    I have SKY and use an RGB to Component converter from J S Technology (http://www.js-technology.com/). It has worked flawlessly for the past 2 years.
     
  19. loadsofleads

    loadsofleads
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Do one of these converters actually improve the picture ???

    I've got a SKY+ box and I am getting a Pioneer 434HDE, would it be a worthy investment for me

    :lease:
     

Share This Page

Loading...