component problems with 42pd5200

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs Forum' started by snappyq, Aug 20, 2004.

1. snappyq

snappyq

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +9
    hi
    im a newbie and have purchased a hitachi 5200 i am having problems with connecting a scart from my dvd to the component on the tv (av2 set to rgb) when connected the picture is going really fast from left to right and im getting a NO SYNC SIGNAL in big yellow wring acccross the screen, i took the scart out put it in sky+ to see if that made any difference but it was just the same.
    any ideas anyone?
    cheers

2. NonPayingMember

NonPayingMember
    Previously Liam @ Prog AV

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +830
    When AV2 is set to RGB I would assume it converts the 3 phono plugs to RGB mode. So it should work right? Well no.

RGB from a scart is RGBs - Red, Green, Blue, and a Separate Sync, a fourth phono plug. With only three phonos available the plasma is wanting RGsB - Red, Green, Blue where the sync signal is merged with the green signal instead of down a separate lead. This output is very uncommon on consumer settop boxes so unfortunately you will need something like the Keene BlackBox converter to convert RGBs to RGsB, or better still use a JS RGB to Component box (or even buy a new DVD player with component connections and progressive scan!).

I don't have much experience using Hitachi plasmas so I may be talking from my backside somewhat, but I'm pretty sure i'm not (this time at least) :rolleyes:

3. NonPayingMember

NonPayingMember

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +830
    Just had one thought, setting AV2 to RGB might make use of the standard video input on AV2 as the separate sync. You need a scart to 4 RCA lead to run R, G and B to the respective terminals and composite video (a.k.a. RGB sync) to the video terminal to see if this works (or hopefully someone who has already done it might comment???)

4. snappyq