Component output is S-video? *confused*

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Daneel, Feb 6, 2005.

  1. Daneel

    Daneel
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,843
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +8
    I noticed today that in order to get component video out of my Toshiba 520E to work on my tv I have to set the output to S-video rather than RGB, is this normal?
     
  2. bonzobanana

    bonzobanana
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2001
    Messages:
    3,449
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Yeovil
    Ratings:
    +220
    yeah its perfectly normal as a lot of dvd players can't produce scart RGB and component outputs at the same time. Component and RGB are broadly similar. So dvd players especially many Toshiba's will only give out component when scart RGB is not selected.
     
  3. Daneel

    Daneel
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,843
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +8
    Ok, but I thought component was RGB, there are 3 cables after all, R, G and B! S-video on the other hand, only uses two lines for colour information, no?
     
  4. bonzobanana

    bonzobanana
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2001
    Messages:
    3,449
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Yeovil
    Ratings:
    +220
    Many dvd players are capable of producing component and s-video signals simultanously but not component and scart rgb simultanously. So by selecting s-video you are also enabling component. Of course you shouldn't connect to s-video and component simultanously but the signal is enabled on both ports. The reason selecting s-video enables component output is because selecting scart RGB prevents component output. You can probably select composite if you had the option and that would still keep component working its only Scart RGB that prevents component output.
     
  5. Daneel

    Daneel
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,843
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +8
    Thanks :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice