1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

component or rgb scart for better picture?

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by JasetheJurist, Mar 3, 2005.

1. JasetheJurist

JasetheJurist
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    apologies is this has been answered elsewhere (i did search and couldn't find answer)
    I'm waiting for my kit to be delivered. I'm proposing to connect sky+ to the pio's media box via scart.
    I've read some comments on here about rgb to component converters. As a newbie I don't really understand yet (but looking forward to learning lots more) all of the advantages of one connection over the other.
    Can anyone advise if the scart connection is the way to go or if not any other suggestions.

2. Astaroth

Astaroth

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +97
    The 'advantage' of component is that it can carry a progressive scan signal as well as interlaced (which is what scart carries).

In a comparison between interlaced RGB and interlaced Component you are unlikely to notice any major differences - however there are a number of displays out there that do strongly favour component (and likewise some that favour RGB).

Alot of people use RGB -> Component either because their displays do not have scart sockets or to allow an AVR (home cinema amp) to switch video sources as very few of these have scart sockets either.

Unless your TV loves component then I doubt you will notice any difference using a convertor

3. JasetheJurist

JasetheJurist
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks for your comments.