1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Component or DVI-D?

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs' started by AllyJo, Feb 8, 2005.

  1. AllyJo

    AllyJo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    62
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Which one is better or is it a very small difference?

    I am getting some Comp cables to connect my Denon 550SD DVD to my new Philly 9986 32" tonight, just wondering if its worth going the full DVI-D with perhaps the Denon 1910 to the tv, which do you guys think would be better to show off the Philips picture best and is it worth changing now if the diff is small?
     
  2. richjthorpe

    richjthorpe
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    2,026
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    dat london
    Ratings:
    +13
    Personally at the moment, no.

    There might be an increase in PQ with an upscaled image but the 1910 is apparently affected by macroblocking (Blocks of colour in the backgrounds). I'd suggest waiting another 6 months maybe for the next batch of DVD players with upscaling to be sure of quality.

    Or, go and test it yourself and get a 1910 from your local bod with a good returns policy.

    Richie.
     
  3. AllyJo

    AllyJo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    62
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    thanks Rich Ill let you know I needed a new DVD anyway so ordered a 1910, ill try both if there is no diff ill use the new player in my other room where my dvd of some 7 years has finally gone kaboom!
     
  4. jimsan

    jimsan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,610
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Dumfries, SW Scotland.
    Ratings:
    +9
    AllyJo,

    You'll find that the 550 does a fantastic job through the component/VGA/DVI adapter. Super smooth images.

    Jimmy
     
  5. AllyJo

    AllyJo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    62
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    thanks Jim cant wait till i get home :thumbsup:

    Question I thought the DVI socket on the phily was DVI-D its DVI-I apparently is this ok to use with the new HDMI Sky setup?
     
  6. jimg

    jimg
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Messages:
    826
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +58
    Yeah, sure is!
     
  7. AllyJo

    AllyJo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    62
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    sorry to keep boring you Jim, any point spending a lot on the component cables going with the cables that came with the TV i.e the comp/vga/dvi stuff? or a usual 10pound set ok?
     
  8. jimsan

    jimsan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,610
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Dumfries, SW Scotland.
    Ratings:
    +9
    Two Jims on the go here AllyJo!

    I am using a very nice component lead that I got from www.tvcables.co.uk for £8.99. Really nice quality and perfectly adequate as the Philips adapter is the weak ling in this setup. Having said that, it works very well.

    Jimmy (as opposed to Jim)
     
  9. AllyJo

    AllyJo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    62
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    hehe thanks again Jims and Jimg :clap:
     
  10. EffTee

    EffTee
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    196
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +5
    I used this company to get a component to VGA cable - Beststuff - that my Dad is using on his set. It's very good quality for the money and was despatched promptly. I think the original pointer to them came from this site, can't quite remember.

    It's a lot tidier than the standard setup. Obviously you still need to use the VGA to DVI converter. It's the purple one one the site, but is actually a more tasteful blue in the flesh.

    EffTee
     

Share This Page

Loading...