1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Component on the Samsung SP50L7HX

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by AndoverRed, Sep 21, 2005.

  1. AndoverRed

    AndoverRed
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    248
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Andover
    Ratings:
    +5
    I was just playing about with an SP50 in Curry's this morning. Unfortunately, I was not able to view anything via the component input, just the SCART and RF, still impressive though.

    I am very interested in this display as it looks the business. However, I have heard that the component input has issues. I would intend to connect all my AV devices (Arcam AVR300 & DV27a, ntl set-top box, and x-box) via component.

    Any comments?

    The default settings are a tad high aren't they? What are the recommended settings for this display?

    Cheers

    Mark
     
  2. Br41ns

    Br41ns
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    424
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +31
    :hiya:

    Never heard of an issues with component, i use component as well as hdmi and the results are impressive on both though i had to change some settings for hdmi. The results off component are excellent.
    I'll post my settings later but if you do a search there has been settings posted previously. :smashin:
     
  3. jdslater1

    jdslater1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Messages:
    886
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    chadwell heath
    Ratings:
    +39
    Please post your settings soon br14n, I'm getting desperate! I have the same set but the 950 player. Just bought component cables on the advice of Kableman and everytime I take the HDMI cable out, I cannot get the picture back (I switch it over to P-scan take the HDMI out and then its gone!). At the moment I am finding it very hard to be overwhelmed with the picture.
     
  4. Br41ns

    Br41ns
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    424
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +31
    :hiya:

    Heres my settings: for sky and dvd

    Mode standard: contarst 55, brightness 60, sharpness 60, colour 42

    or cinema: contrast 80, brightness 55, sharpness 60, colour 42


    For xbox: Standard, contrast 80, brightness 55, sharpness 55, colour 50


    In all the above i have DNIe on, DNR off Film mode off.
    My colours are blue 42, green 32, pink 42.

    Hope thats of some use. :smashin:
     
  5. jdslater1

    jdslater1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Messages:
    886
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    chadwell heath
    Ratings:
    +39
    Done the settings that br14n recommended, can anyone with the 945 or 950 tell me what settings to put the player on. I'm running it through component as I didn't like HDMI.
     
  6. tiburs

    tiburs
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm wondering if the personal colour settings are usefull or not. Apart from the personal colour (not used), my settings are very close but with colour at 53. Don't you think you'd achieve same results just increasing global colour?
    Anyway I'll try yours this evening..
     

Share This Page

Loading...