1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Component Nightmare

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by dgharwood, Apr 7, 2004.

  1. dgharwood

    dgharwood
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    88
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Swansea
    Ratings:
    +6
    I purchased off ebay a component board for my Panasonic 42THPW6. When it would not squeeze into the slot I realised that I had purchased a series 4 bord and not series 6 - stupid me! Back to selling it on ebay!

    Hwoever, my question is that I am about to embark on hopefully purchasing the correct board, yet am concerned that on the Panasonic Boards fr component/RGB IN there appears to be 5 BNC inputs :
    VD
    HD
    Pr/Cr/R
    Pb/Cb/B
    Y/G

    On the output fr my denon DVD, I only have three component ouputs, namely R/G/B.

    Do I just ignore the VD/HD ones?

    Help please???
     
  2. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    dont quote me..... the denon is outputting in YUV color space thich has the 3 component feed. The 5 feed is for component in RGB color space which also includes horizontal and vertical syncs..... So you need to find whether the panasonic board handles YUV input (i assume it must)

    ad

    ps. apologies if im wrong
     
  3. dgharwood

    dgharwood
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    88
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Swansea
    Ratings:
    +6
    Thanks - before I order I will ring Panasonic and hope they have the answer.
     
  4. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    I think im wrong there..... or at least not totally right! Im fairly sure it would work though. Ask in the plasma forum and you will get more response

    ad
     
  5. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    24,268
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,572
    dgharwood

    There are RCA and BNC versions of the YUV (ONLY) single slot board available for the 6 Series displays:

    TY-42TM6AB is YUV on 3BNC
    TY-42TM6ZB is YUV on 3RCA

    There is also a twin slot board that accepts YUV or RGB(HV) on BNC + S-Video and Composite.

    TY-42TM6YB

    Best regards

    Joe
     
  6. dgharwood

    dgharwood
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    88
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Swansea
    Ratings:
    +6
    Thanks Joe - I know now!
     
  7. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    Phew, so i was right in what i said, just hadnt got the whole story! :D

    all the best

    ad
     

Share This Page

Loading...