1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

component leads

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by patmyhead, Feb 11, 2002.

  1. patmyhead

    patmyhead
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Messages:
    588
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    I o M
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi i am upgradeing my arcam dvd to component output to conect to a sanyo Pj
    i will require a 10 m leads what would be best make of cables to get
    thanks pat
     
  2. Timh

    Timh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2000
    Messages:
    4,806
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Altair-4
    Ratings:
    +128
    Dont go for the one's from Keene, My Brother is having problems with his cheap nasty 10 metre componant cables from there, (not even screened) and they cost over £60 :eek:
     
  3. patmyhead

    patmyhead
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Messages:
    588
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    I o M
    Ratings:
    +1
    nethanks i have had the same problem with keene s cable
    surposed to be hige quality but over 10 m is unwatchable
    pat:p
     
  4. codling

    codling
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2001
    Messages:
    427
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    hartlepool
    Ratings:
    +15
    patmyhead,

    give joe fernand a pm,he should be able to sort you out.
    i had the same problem as you.
    just tell him what you need.then he will reply with a price.

    great service and prices

    :D

    hope this helps

    cod
     
  5. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
  6. patmyhead

    patmyhead
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Messages:
    588
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    I o M
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks for help gents
    But upgrade is now on hold as i have just found out that the arcam can not output pal only ntsc in progressive scan
    it seems only the JAPS &FAR EASTERN players can do pal:(
     
  7. tahustvedt

    tahustvedt
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Messages:
    112
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    In a galaxy far, far away... (Norway)
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just ordered 10m of shielded cat 5 cable and six RCA-plugs for making a component cable. The cable is only about 5mm thick so it won't look too alien in the roof of my living room like those black 10mm component cables. Shielded cat 5 is good for transfering video signals, and very cheap. Cat 6 and cat 7 is even better, but I could not find any retailers.

    The cable and plugs will set me back about Nkr 330 (£25).

    Shielded cat 5 was recommended to me on the avsforum where some users have reported very good resullts. It makes sense when you look at the characteristics. Cat 5 cable consists of four twisted pairs of wires.

    Check it out if you enjoy DIY. :)
     
  8. Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just visited a local hi-fi shop they quoted £170 for a 7m Ixos component :eek:, have to start saving my pennies again I guess
     
  9. tahustvedt

    tahustvedt
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Messages:
    112
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    In a galaxy far, far away... (Norway)
    Ratings:
    +0
  10. patmyhead

    patmyhead
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Messages:
    588
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    I o M
    Ratings:
    +1
    not acording to arcam it carnt pal only this was confirmed by my arcam dealer
     
  11. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,980
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,780
  12. patmyhead

    patmyhead
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Messages:
    588
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    I o M
    Ratings:
    +1
    where can i get P Scan fitted &is it anything to do with arcam
    thanks Gordon
    pat :rolleyes:
     
  13. geordie_blerk

    geordie_blerk
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2002
    Messages:
    39
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm looking at making up some cables for myself, can anybody point me in the direction of a website with instruction on how to do this?

    Cheers
     
  14. tahustvedt

    tahustvedt
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Messages:
    112
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    In a galaxy far, far away... (Norway)
    Ratings:
    +0

Share This Page

Loading...