1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

component leads for prog scan

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by hddvdman, Jun 25, 2003.

  1. hddvdman

    hddvdman
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2003
    Messages:
    6,070
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    somethere over there but not near here, there
    Ratings:
    +155
    where should i get decent leads from so i can play my dvd (denon) in prog scan through my plasma??
     
  2. alexs2

    alexs2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Messages:
    13,895
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,674
    Depending on how much you want to spend,Ixos component leads give reasonable quality at around £30,or Kimber digital cables will give better results but at substantially increased prices.
     
  3. Dutch

    Dutch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,580
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +263
    Hi,

    You could try www.hificables.co.uk who stock a fairly good range of manufacturers. I've just bought a Supra power cord from them which was delivered this morning after I ordered it yesterday afternoon!

    Steve
     
  4. mikeq

    mikeq
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    http://www.lektropacks.com/

    Thats where I got my component cable for my DV88+ to my plasma. 5 metre cost me £54 for the prolink type

    Mike
     
  5. vonhosen

    vonhosen
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,835
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +13
    I use Bettercables Silver Serpent Cables for Prog scan from Denon player to Panasonic screen. They're great.
     
  6. Kazuya Mishima

    Kazuya Mishima
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,416
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    North East Scotland
    Ratings:
    +65
  7. Jase

    Jase
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,407
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    South Coast
    Ratings:
    +856
  8. haujobbz

    haujobbz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Messages:
    1,892
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +90
    Dutch have you tried the supra mains lead yet and if so did you think it improved the picture.:p

    Im using kimber mains leads and also a kimber extension lead, i think they work miracles on my setup :devil:
     
  9. Dutch

    Dutch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,580
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +263
    Hi,

    I got the lead for my forthcoming plasma so I've not tried it yet. I've previously bought PowerKords but they are a bit pricey at 2m length! :eek:

    Steve
     
  10. Blu-rayx

    Blu-rayx
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2001
    Messages:
    2,099
    Products Owned:
    6
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    n/a
    Ratings:
    +213

    Jase,


    Have you heard any reports about this cable?



    dvd :)
     
  11. Jase

    Jase
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,407
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    South Coast
    Ratings:
    +856
    The Component cables are on their way so I can't pass judgement until they arrive. I already have one of the digital coaxial cables and it's excellent. Currently I have this, one of Mark Grant's silver coaxials and a couple of X3ELS (Elliot's) cables. All are superb and outperform my Chord Prodac I had previously.:D
     
  12. groundy

    groundy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2001
    Messages:
    1,553
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    Ratings:
    +1
    That's correct though more than one type of cable is used depending on application.

    Just a staight-up no-nonsense design. I believe they have a great spec and offer fantastic performance (compared to similarly & higher priced brands). Quite a few others agree.

    Offcourse there are many other great options out there and you can't go wrong with most off them. It's all a question of budget at the end of the day :).

    Sig changed to reflect position.
     
  13. StooMonster

    StooMonster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,970
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +314
    Was just guessing based on what your site said, and used example of component because it was easier to find.

    Do sound interesting -- spec is same / better than many expensive brands -- I'd order some up immediately but am totally cabled up at the moment, and got plenty I haven't made up yet. Hrm... may have to order some up anyway to see what they are like.:)

    Good luck BTW.

    StooMonster
     
  14. juboy

    juboy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've been using a set of Scorpion Cables component cables for around a month now and they not only look gorgeous but also perform far better than my previous Supra AV3 cables (which are highly regarded award winners in their own right).

    Re-calibrated my TV, using Avia in NTSC prog scan mode, and found that it wasn't just a subjective improvement... colour saturation and definition are demonstrably better using the Scorpion Cables.

    Also now got myself a Scorpion Digital Coax cable to handle the audio side of things. First impressions are extremely favourable with this cable also.
     
  15. AVcontroller

    AVcontroller
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I got my leads made to length by Intoav.com
    10m of Component, SVHS and composite cost me under £100.
    They use evolution cable and terminate with the connectors you require, the cables were very well made and took 3 days to arrive.
    Its such good stuff BBC broadcast use it!
     
  16. StooMonster

    StooMonster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,970
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +314
    So, did Intoav.com's sales tell you that, or do you know that for a fact? ;)

    My local hi-fi dealer says that BBC Broadcast use QUE component cables. :rolleyes:

    StooMonster
     
  17. juboy

    juboy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've also read several articles where different BBC engineers say they'll use any old cheap cables that they can find lying around as they don't really give a monkeys... seriously!
     
  18. StooMonster

    StooMonster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,970
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +314
    My dealer says that about QUE cables when he's selling them to customers, even tried it on me. :rolleyes:

    My friends in post production / mastering / telecining / etc have over 40 miles of component cable in their Soho studio; so they tell me, and when you see their racks of kit you can believe it. They do plenty of work for BBC et al, and had all their cable replaced a couple of years ago when they moved across the street.

    Do you think they ordered 40 miles of QUE component cable? :rotfl:

    StooMonster
     
  19. Matt Horne

    Matt Horne
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2000
    Messages:
    4,117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Over the Hill & Far Away
    Ratings:
    +119
    currently waiting to buy a TV so I can use component cables but I am running scorpion digital coax and sub cables now.. also impressed.. sound great and the build quality and appearence is top notch.

    Cheers

    Matt
     
  20. Stuart Wright

    Stuart Wright
    AVForums Founder Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2000
    Messages:
    13,809
    Products Owned:
    6
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    Ratings:
    +9,529
    SVHS is a type of video tape. You mean S-Video.
     
  21. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    24,053
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,523
    Hello all

    I think you'll find the BBC use a whole heap of video and audio cable types to suit each application - though I doubt they use many of the 'branded' HiFi cable ranges.

    I know from personal experience and through talking to Graham over on the TAG forum that like many in the 'trade' the BBC use a fair amount of VanDamme cable - the Broadcasters and Production studios being VanDamme's main market.

    I think the most complex contract we've put together had about 10km of video, audio and data cable; all built into a fleet of six mobile AV presentation theatres we built for BT.

    Best regards

    Joe
     

Share This Page

Loading...