1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Component input card to HTPC

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Nic Rhodes, Jul 24, 2001.

  1. Nic Rhodes

    Nic Rhodes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    17,133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1,277
    Jeff and Kryton seem to have found a high quality card to get signals into a PC (AVS), DScaler can then do it's bit (version 3 just out by the way). This card has S-Video.

    Does anyone know of a high quality card that can do component input as well as S-Video? Does such a card exist.

    [ 24-07-2001: Message edited by: Nic Rhodes ]
     
  2. Nic Rhodes

    Nic Rhodes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    17,133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1,277
    Bump bump bump.

    I guess that no one knows of one then? Jeffs S-Video card then?
     
  3. Jeff

    Jeff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    5,489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +256
    Nic,

    I did a LOT of reserch trying to find the ultimate video in card. The main problem is finding something that is compatible with DScaler. From what I can make of it component or RGB support is not possible with the bt8x8 chipset. It can also only support 1 s-video in, although in theory if DScaler supported it you could have more than 1 capture card.

    The Falcon card which I bought works very well with Sky Digital, it also works well with my Sony DVD player but for some reason I notice some noise as apposed to virtual none with Sky. In any case compared to my other cards (WinTV and ATI TV Wonder) this card is miles ahead.

    Kryton is comming with me to the event so if you are going you should get the chance to see the card in action. I can't wait to see it compared to the rock. :D

    Jeff
     
  4. Jenz

    Jenz
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Jeff, who is bringing The Rock?

    Regards Neil.
     
  5. Jeff

    Jeff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    5,489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +256
    I have no idea ;)

    Blade?
     
  6. Nic Rhodes

    Nic Rhodes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    17,133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1,277
    Jeff

    Kryton is one of the main attractions for me at the event, though I must admit I have several other / related interests (scalers). Don't be surprized if I pick your brains a little, if you don't mind. I can show you my effort. I'm proud of it but I need to work on a few things like software config, quieter DVD drive and S-Video in, first. The rest works well though not in Kryton league.

    My next stage was to check out the bt8x8 chipset to asses it's capability. I currently have a Radeon AIW but the S-Video is nothing special. This can easily be swapped for my Geoforce Ultra and one of your Falcon cards which may be a better solution. I would need a separate TV PVR then though.

    One S-video input is not an issue as the AV32R does the switching in my case.

    I am very interested in the Vigetec agianst the Rock against Kryton. This will allow me personal experience rather than reading at AVS. :)
     
  7. Jeff

    Jeff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    5,489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +256
    John,

    That sounds great!, I'm struggling with the dscaler settings. I have changed a few like turning on the gamma filer, but with many of the settings I can't tell what effect it's having on the picture. I have read the settings info on the DScaler web site but I could do with something that explains the effects with a little more detail. Any tips in advance of the event? :)

    Thanks,

    Jeff
     
  8. JohnAd

    JohnAd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2001
    Messages:
    362
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +4
    It's difficult to know what you need to know about until I've seen your setup. We spend quite a lot of time making sure the defaults for most things are correct.

    Most of the setting that would effect the picture are the picture controls and the overlay picture controls. I'm not really clear how these interact yet and which ones to set first.

    I was thinking that most of the changes we would go over would be automation/control and optimizing the picture for PAL and NTSC for both DScaler and DVD.

    John
     
  9. JohnAd

    JohnAd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2001
    Messages:
    362
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +4
    Nic & Jeff

    Maybe we should arrange a HTPC breakout session where we could try and fiddle with Kryton to make it even better. There are load of Dscaler settings we could play with for example and I'm sure we can play around with powerstrip to try and get really good timing for both NTSC and PAL DVD's.

    John
     
  10. Nic Rhodes

    Nic Rhodes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    17,133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1,277
    I'm Game.
     
  11. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,981
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,785
    Guys,

    I seem to be slipping up here. I will now email those folk who oofered equipment for the event and confimr whether it will be available.....I'm sure it will.

    There will be a room dedicated to scaling technology demonstrations and comparisons. The shop is too small and the event now too large to dedicate comparisons of just a rock / vigatec / kryton or for Kryton to be tucked away. I would expect though that as not everyone is interested in Dscaler, or even LCD/DLP projectors, you will have plenty of chance to muck around and chat over the space of the day. Let's see how tings pan out. If HTPC proves a huge hit we can always get more tweaky as the day goes on.

    Remember, the only really structured part will be the morning session. The rest will be fly by wire stuff. To make it sensible though I'll put John in the scaling room along with someone who can work the Seleco800 CRT we'll be using. How does that sound?

    Gordon
     
  12. Craig Crane

    Craig Crane
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    What you really need is a KBK modified TV card. There improvement is amazing. No need for a TAW rock, when used with Dscaler. As for my old and trusty DVDo iscan. Pah! I'll have to see what I can get for it in Loot!

    More details over at AVS (http://www.avsforum.com/ubb/Forum12/HTML/013038.html#4) and on my Home page.

    Trust me, this KBK guy from canada has pulled apart the best TV card, looked at its strong points, addressed its weaker points and delivered a Capture card that is great for LD, Sky and Play station. No need to scale DVD, as I use S/W players.
     
  13. Jeff

    Jeff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    5,489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +256
    Craig how about some Sky Digital snaps so that I can compare against the falcon. Some have accused the KBK's picture to be a bit on the soft side. Also if you press the sky service button followed by the backup button do you see any noise on the blue screen?

    Jeff
     
  14. Mark Grant

    Mark Grant
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2000
    Messages:
    1,357
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    East Yorkshire, England
    Ratings:
    +171
    Hello Craig,

    Would it be possible for you to post a close up picture of the modified card?

    I would really like to see one of these close up.

    I have been going to get my soldering iron out to modify some Cybertainment cards for a while, but have not got round to it yet, just need a little motivation.

    Anyone got a really close picture of one of the Falcon cards?

    Thanks,

    Mark G.
     
  15. Nic Rhodes

    Nic Rhodes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    17,133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1,277
    My Falcon come tomorrow. Thanks for the input Jeff.
     
  16. Tim Cooper

    Tim Cooper
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2000
    Messages:
    2,773
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Laindon Essex
    Ratings:
    +96
    Hi Jeff,

    Where can i purchase one of these falcon cards & how much are they?

    Just to let you know that "Kretin" is performing brilliantly, beautiful on my new Barco <img src="biggrin.gif" border="0"> <br /> <br />Having real grief automating (methinks i need a pronto)& that Girder proggy what a GIT to do ANYTHING........is it me?

    Cheers

    Tim
     
  17. Jeff

    Jeff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    5,489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +256
    Here is the Falcon link.<br /><a href="http://www.iste.com/video-capture/falcon.html" target="_blank">http://www.iste.com/video-capture/falcon.html</a>

    It costs £145 + vat

    Girder is a pain to use, I still don't have many commands. I mostly use it to start and end programs. Hopefully with the DVD and DScaler (mostly) sorted I can do some more atutomation work.

    Jeff
     
  18. Craig Crane

    Craig Crane
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Gentlemen, I can post Sky Digital pics, but no close up of the card. This is because I feel that KBK offers a good service/product, and I would hate to see him being reversed engineered. Plus, I paid good money for the card. If you want to see one close up, take the plunge...you'll be glad you did
     
  19. Craig Crane

    Craig Crane
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    ...there is no noise on the Blue Sky services screen you mentioned. I viewed it on a 8 foot screen. Clear as a bell
     
  20. Mark Grant

    Mark Grant
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2000
    Messages:
    1,357
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    East Yorkshire, England
    Ratings:
    +171
    Here is a link to an RGB capture card.

    <a href="http://www.datx.com/products/hardware/dt3154.htm" target="_blank">http://www.datx.com/products/hardware/dt3154.htm</a>

    Doubt it will work with Dscaler, but the picture on the site shows it has a BT chip, so I can hope......

    It has two RGB inputs, so we could capture RGB from a standalone DVD player and a Satellite receiver.

    <br />Mark G.<br />(also posted to the 'other' forum)
     

Share This Page

Loading...