1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Component has no audio right?( Newbie Alert)

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by Hotshot147, Jun 23, 2005.

  1. Hotshot147

    Hotshot147
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Messages:
    94
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +4
    I will be getting a plasma shortly, and i dont have any surround yet.My question might sound silly to the experts ,but if i hook up my dvd with component leads will i be able to get sound somehow.Do i need some extra leads from my dvd to plasma.

    Regards.

    Chris... :)
     
  2. GalacticaActual

    GalacticaActual
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    5,684
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Galactica C.I.C.
    Ratings:
    +214
    Well it depends on what plasma you are getting and what DVD player you have.

    The panasonic plasmas and Crt tvs share the AV4 input with scart and componenet. You simply hook up with a scart lead and componenet leads, watch through the compoenent input and get sound throught the scart lead.
     
  3. Hotshot147

    Hotshot147
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Messages:
    94
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +4
    Thankyou i'm getting a pv500 so i should be ok then.

    Cheers.

    Chris...
     
  4. Zone

    Zone
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2001
    Messages:
    6,562
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Barnsley
    Ratings:
    +2,177
    To be specific to your original question then Component is purely visual only!

    Sound has to be treated seperately, I have no experience re your particular plasma so take Daves advice re the Panny.
     
  5. Hotshot147

    Hotshot147
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Messages:
    94
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +4
    Thanks for your input Zone. :smashin:

    Thank you.

    Chris...
     
  6. Moncs

    Moncs
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2002
    Messages:
    460
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Edinburgh, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +1
    I to am getting a PV500 next week, and planned to connect my Denon DHT500 to it via a good quality component lead, can anyone recommend one??

    I thought that component carried sound, what is peoples opinons on what else I need to connect the denon to the PV500 over and above the component lead?
     
  7. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,130
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,392
    One of the best value/quality component leads you can get are These from the forum powerbuy :thumbsup:

    They are highly recommended by many members of this forum.

    Mark.
     
  8. SonOfSony

    SonOfSony
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you have surround sound DVD then you won't need to worry about connecting a SCART for sound. Just the component will do.
     

Share This Page

Loading...