1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Component dvd to Toshiba 32WL56 pc connection

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs' started by hermeneut, Jun 15, 2005.

  1. hermeneut

    hermeneut
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Messages:
    71
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi All,

    My first posting, so go easy!

    I have a Panasonic DMR-E95 hd/ dvd recorder and want to connect it to my hopefully-soon-to-arrive Toshiba 32WL56 LCD panel using a component to VGA cable. I just want to know if the picture from the dvd player will render properly - i.e., at the correct resolution, ratio, etc?

    Has anyone tried this? And is there a quality hit as opposed to RGB Scart?

    Cheers in advance!
     
  2. David Mackenzie

    David Mackenzie
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    10,213
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    Ratings:
    +1,310
    I'm assuming the LCD accepts Y/Pb/Pr signals over the VGA input. If so, you'll be fine 'n' dandy.

    RGB SCART is poorer in quality compared to both VGA and Component (assuming Component is running in some type of Progressive Scan, if not it'll look about the same as RGB Scart).
     
  3. numbelino

    numbelino
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    77
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    See http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=220375
     
  4. hermeneut

    hermeneut
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Messages:
    71
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Numbelino,

    I've looked at that other posting but am not quite clear what it means. Otherwise, my Panny is indeed progressive scan so, if I get one of these yuv-equipped Toshibas, I should be okay?
     
  5. numbelino

    numbelino
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    77
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    There are some 27/32/37WL56 that aren't accepting YUV through VGA with 720p and 1080i - it's a production problem, it seems. In theory, it should work; if not, you must complaint to Toshiba and your dealer.
     
  6. Rob Sheep

    Rob Sheep
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    155
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +0
    Make sure it doesn't hummm, some of these sets have transformer buzz. Its a problem which Toshiba know about complain to them if it happens to you. :devil: :suicide:
     
  7. hermeneut

    hermeneut
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Messages:
    71
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Rob,

    Yes I'd noticed your postings on the buzz - which worried me. However, I have it ordered from unbeatable who can't tell me when it will arrive, so I'm hoping Toshiba are refreshing stock and dealing with the transformer and YUV problems.

    I'm anxious about the set: I bought it on a whim and then dragged my better half to an AV shop to buy a component to VGA lead whereupon the proprietor almost had an apoplectic fit about the poor quality of LCD screens. That, as you will imagine, resulted in my being banished to the doghouse.

    I'll be using it with ntl digital, the Panasonic DMR-E95 and maybe an xbox. Are people generally happy with the picture quality from digital sources? I've seen the other posting on this issue but wonder how things are for people who've had one for a while?
     
  8. Zigster

    Zigster
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    108
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    When I ordered my 32wl56 from unbeatable a few weeks ago, I was told they were due in this week. Has this definitely been put back?

    Interesting to hear that you can do component to VGA - I hadn't thought of that and I might have a play when my set turns up.
     
  9. hermeneut

    hermeneut
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Messages:
    71
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Zigster,

    I phoned unbeatable today and had three replies by email; the first two said that they had no information from Toshiba and therefore none for me; the third said that the Tosh would arrive with unbeatable this coming Friday, and so will presumably be despatched Friday or Monday.

    I'd recommend giving them a ring. I've used them a lot and they're generally v. reliable.
     
  10. Rob Sheep

    Rob Sheep
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    155
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +0
    hermeneut,

    The picture quality is very very good, in fact it is one of the best out there, so don't think that you've made a mistake buying one. I think I was one of the first to have one of these sets, I've been running it in for three weeks now and besides the buzz its OK. I'm not happy with Toshiba as it took them several goes to figure out the problem, the engineer they have sent has now told me that the parts are not in stock with Toshiba and that they cannot be ordered until after the 20th June, which is a big disapointment.

    I'm going to call Toshiba to see what the delay is and if the VGA issue effects UK spec sets, I hadn't thought about using the VGA that way.

    Two other issues: it won't play nonanamorphic DVDs, which is a problem. Also when changing from different formats 480p/576i - 720p & 1080i, there is a loud internal click and NO difference in picture quality, which I haven't quite figured out.

    I only wish someone else had one of these sets so I could compare notes.

    Good luck with yours! :thumbsup: :clap: :hiya:
     
  11. Dubbing Mixer

    Dubbing Mixer
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    643
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    By, and sometimes in, the sea
    Ratings:
    +2
    I've got one and I'm slowly getting to grips with it although I'm currently very short of time to play. Even without much fiddling the picture is a vast improvement over the Sonix I took back to Sainsbury's...

    I'll keep an eye on this thread and experiment as I have time and post any relevant findings.
     
  12. tulloch2003

    tulloch2003
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2003
    Messages:
    855
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Port Talbot
    Ratings:
    +15
    Just order this LCD. Has anyone got this to work then component to VGA :confused:

    Regards Tulloch
     
  13. supermackem

    supermackem
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    2,061
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    sunderland
    Ratings:
    +71
    I have 480p but upwards like 720p 1080i just leaves you with a green screen.
     
  14. tulloch2003

    tulloch2003
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2003
    Messages:
    855
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Port Talbot
    Ratings:
    +15
    @ supermackem did you use a component to VGA cable to do this then. If so what was the pic like then please.

    Regards Tulloch
     
  15. hermeneut

    hermeneut
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Messages:
    71
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Supermacken,

    480p is all we're going to get from dvd players that don't upscale. If it does this, I'm happy - I'll know tomorrow when my Tosh arrives!! :clap:
     
  16. supermackem

    supermackem
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    2,061
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    sunderland
    Ratings:
    +71
    Yeah i used a component to vga adapter. It was used on my usa xbox which can do 480p 720p and 1080i. Having tried games that support all three formats the only format useable was 480p. 720p and 1080i left me with a green picture. Which is a bit of a bummer as i planned to use the vga port for xbox 360 which does 720p and 1080i.
     
  17. tulloch2003

    tulloch2003
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2003
    Messages:
    855
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Port Talbot
    Ratings:
    +15
    @ supermackem so the best way to conect a DVD is by the hdmi port with the toch screen then. :confused:

    Regards Tulloch
     
  18. supermackem

    supermackem
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    2,061
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    sunderland
    Ratings:
    +71
    Yeah mate i would think so. Alough the vga adapter give a very nice 480p on the xbox so would give a nice dvd playback.
     
  19. tulloch2003

    tulloch2003
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2003
    Messages:
    855
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Port Talbot
    Ratings:
    +15
    Ok cheers for info supermackem. So no need to get a vga adapter really then.

    Regards Tulloch
     
  20. hermeneut

    hermeneut
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Messages:
    71
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Okay, so my Tosh arrived and I connected it by component to vga - and the picture from dvd is sweet!!!

    My next question is this: what are the optimum picture settings for this machine?

    Suggestions please!
     
  21. tulloch2003

    tulloch2003
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2003
    Messages:
    855
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Port Talbot
    Ratings:
    +15
    @hermeneut. What did you use to get component to work with this screen. Will it do PS to, don't know which DVD player to go for HDMI or a component. :confused:

    Regards Tulloch
     
  22. tulloch2003

    tulloch2003
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2003
    Messages:
    855
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Port Talbot
    Ratings:
    +15
    Hi here are some settings that Smatty007 as tried.


    Hi all,

    I have been using the 32WL56 for one week now. I wanted a 32' TFT to replace my 11 year old LOEWE Art Vision 700.

    All I cared for was good picture quality with a fast and responsive LCD panel. And the Toshiba is all that. It is not top notch whistles and bells with endless connection options, though!

    I have it hooked up via a good Scart (gold) cable to my DVD player and use Analog cabel-TV direct feed (here in Germany)

    I find the picture quality for both, DVD and TV to be very good. I did not have the problems CROSSY talked about. In fact, I think the responsiveness is excellen in sports broadcasts, such as football, tennis and car racing!

    Here are the settings I am using (these were reconmended by a user in a german forum)

    Individual Toshiba 32WL56 settings:
    backlight: 30
    contrast: 55
    brightness: 42
    color: 50
    tint: +8
    sharpness: -30
    DVD-Player setting changes for Denon 3910 (videoessentials ):
    contrast+2
    color+3

    All other enhancement modes except blackstretch are turned off (dnr, mpegnr and cinemamode = off).
    This image may be a bit too dark for daylight watching, but I am a night time watcher only, and it works well for me. (otherwise use the evening / dawn setting from Toshiba)

    I have not heard the Buzzing sound on my 32WL56, but I have read this may only occur at backlight 100% You might want to turn it down anyway, for a more natural picture and longer life of the light (I set mine to 30!!!)

    If the TV picture is too grainy, I manually readjusted the frequency for the channel (usually minus 5 to 10) This will give you a slightly softer, but noisereduced image.

    Hope this works out for you

    Cheers

    Smatty007

    Regards Tulloch
     
  23. hermeneut

    hermeneut
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Messages:
    71
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cheers Tulloch!
     
  24. Dubbing Mixer

    Dubbing Mixer
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    643
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    By, and sometimes in, the sea
    Ratings:
    +2
    Anyone found their way into the service menu yet? I'd like to reduce the overscan in analogue modes a bit.
     
  25. tulloch2003

    tulloch2003
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2003
    Messages:
    855
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Port Talbot
    Ratings:
    +15
    @hermeneut you got any pics then.

    Regards Tulloch
     
  26. hermeneut

    hermeneut
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Messages:
    71
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Having finished fiddling with the settings on the Tosh, I've had a chance to read the manual (RTFM - moi?!). Included is a skanky photocopied inset on connecting a component source to the 32WL56 - I'll scan it tomorrow and upload but in the meantime, here's the news: the component to VGA connection 'supports 480i, 480p, 567i, 567p, 720p and 1080i signals'. Good news for High Def fans - and clearly the means by which this Tosh satisfies EICTA guidelines on HD.
     
  27. tulloch2003

    tulloch2003
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2003
    Messages:
    855
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Port Talbot
    Ratings:
    +15
    Nice one hermeneut so it as a ture component socket then if needed:thumbsup: I'm going to get a Philips 963SA instead of the Panny s97 now

    Regards Tulloch
     
  28. numbelino

    numbelino
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    77
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    @hermeneut.
    What did you use to get component to work with this screen? An adapter, or a VGA to YUV cable? And where did you bought it?
    Thanks!
     
  29. hermeneut

    hermeneut
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Messages:
    71
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Numbelino,

    I bought a component to VGA cable from beststuff.co.uk. They list them here: http://www.beststuff.co.uk/specialist_rgb_leads.htm at £18.99 for 1.5 metres. It's a good quality lead.

    Also, here's the insert on how to connect a component source provided ith the Tosh manual. Pardon the quality - that's actually what it looks like!

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

  30. numbelino

    numbelino
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    77
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks! :thumbsup:
    And very good news! :clap:
     

Share This Page

Loading...