1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Component Cables

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by Cheng, Jan 3, 2003.

1. Cheng

Cheng

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +6
    Hi,

A HC newbie here :)
    Are component cables just phono cables?

I have a Tosh. 36ZT29B and a Tosh. 220E, both of them have component video connections, so I was wondering if I could use this cable, or is this cable just for audio?

http://www.grandata.co.uk/acatalog/Grandata__3_Phono_to_3_Phono_688.html

Its a 3 phono to 3 phono cable made by Thor.

If I used a audio phono cable, would it make a difference?

Thanks.

2. graham.myers

graham.myers

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    yes, yes, and thrice yes. (one for red one for green and one for blue:devil: )

They are "only" phono cables to some extent.

But they're different on the inside - Video cables have a 50 ohm resistance, where as audio does not (I think).

For a short while (until my HCC room settled down into its final position) I used high quality audio phono cables. Once everything was in place I switched them for dedicated 50 ohm video cable.

Technically I'm not sure what the difference is but it does affect the information distributed down the cable, exhibiting some noise or loss of definition that kind of thing.

To get you out of a hole or to try a combination of things out, then cheap phono cables will work, but you should look to replacing them with decent dedicated cables at some point.

its like spending £2k on speakers and then only using bell wire to wire them up - just a waste

3. Cheng

Cheng

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +6
    So these Thor 3 phono to 3 phono cables will work fine for video? (i.e. are they video or audio cables?)

Also, I thought video cables were meant to have a 75ohm resistance, not 50?

Thanks for the help.

4. graham.myers