Component cable question

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by John Watts, Oct 7, 2003.

  1. John Watts

    John Watts
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    3,835
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +80
    Hi all,

    Can anyone tell me if its possible to connect a prog scan dvd player to a projector using regular phono to phono cables rather than a specific component cable?

    One of the richer sounds boys said that you can, I didn't think so but i thought i'd ask here.

    Cheers for any help,
    Regards,
    John.

    P.S mods i have posted a simelar question in the prog scan forum if this is a problem please delete that one rather than this.
     
  2. mikeq

    mikeq
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The cable has to be 75 Ohms I believe for video signals.
     
  3. John Watts

    John Watts
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    3,835
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +80
    Thanks mikeq,
    Are you saying that normal phono cables are not 75 ohms?
     
  4. Mylo

    Mylo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,541
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +372
    As stated in your other post, audio cables are normally 50 ohms.
     
  5. John Watts

    John Watts
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    3,835
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +80
    Ok i see,
    Cheers guys.
     
  6. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,132
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,393
    A normal phono cable will work, but you will not get great quality.
    To get any real benefit from useing component you do need to spend a reasonable amount on a decent set of cables.
    I upgraded to Scorpion component cable from a £50 3m cable bought with my DVD player & plasma. The improvement was great and the cable was cheaper than my origional one (don't know make as there is nothing on the cable).

    Mark.
     
  7. nathan_silly

    nathan_silly
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've bought a set of 3x3M cables from VDC- total cost £36 including postage, looks great.
     
  8. Mylo

    Mylo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,541
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +372
    I made mine out of pro grade cable. Cost about £5 the cable was free.:)
     

Share This Page

Loading...