1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Component Cable for Xbox?

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by Jon Weaver, Oct 27, 2002.

  1. Jon Weaver

    Jon Weaver
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2000
    Messages:
    6,041
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Born in Bristol but now in Newport, (for my sins)
    Ratings:
    +657
    I know that this post should go in the video games section, but I doubt if many people in that forum use Component.

    I have never been interested in putting my video games on a big screen.. But having just bought a Plamsa, but as the Xbox support Progressive Scan, as does the Plasma, it would be stupid not to try it out

    Is there anywhere that sells a 'cheap' component cable? I don't want to spend too much, as its only going to be for occasional use.

    I have done a search and found that Comet to a "SAITEK COMPONENT SCART" for £9.99.. But I want it presented on Phonos instead of SCART.. I know it would be easy to convert the cable, but it would be nice to find the proper thing.

    Any info on this would be appreciated

    Jon
     
  2. jmack

    jmack
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    just use some good phono`s they all the same
     
  3. Jon Weaver

    Jon Weaver
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2000
    Messages:
    6,041
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Born in Bristol but now in Newport, (for my sins)
    Ratings:
    +657
    If the Xbox had phono based component output then you are right.

    But the Xbox has a proprietary AV connector at the back.. You have to buy a cable to bring out RGB, Component, SVideo or whatever from this connector.
     
  4. CarlB

    CarlB
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2001
    Messages:
    1,101
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Godmanchester, Cambs
    Ratings:
    +86
    I got the official Hi-Def (component + digital out) pack when I was in the US earlier this year. Check www.tronixweb.com as I think they sell the same kit.

    Works like a charm, great picture with games.
     
  5. codlord

    codlord
    Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2002
    Messages:
    283
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Portsmouth, UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    Jon,

    I think you will find the "SAITEK COMPONENT SCART" is not component, only scart or composite video phono.

    Have you got a unmodded UK PAL Xbox? The reason I ask is I was under the impression that Progressive scan was not enabled on uk boxes.

    You can apparently use the High Definition AV Pack available from a few places I have found but from what I have read it will not do any prog scan or hi-res stuff on a uk box:
    http://www.yorvik-consoles.freeserve.co.uk/xbox/main.html
    http://www.mx2.org/acatalog/MX2_org_Xbox_Hardware_210.html
    http://www.tqgames.co.uk/hardware.shtm
    (not ordered from any of these so can't say how good they are).

    Also when I was last in my local 'Game' store, I am sure they had a proper (phono) component cable set for xbox. I can't find anything on their web site but may be worth checking if you have a store near you.
     
  6. Jon Weaver

    Jon Weaver
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2000
    Messages:
    6,041
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Born in Bristol but now in Newport, (for my sins)
    Ratings:
    +657
    My Xbox is as mod'd as it can be.

    Its got an Extender chip which can be switched on/off, but is running the EvolutionX BIOS from the 'onboard' BIOS.

    It also got an 80gig hard-drive installed, which means I can run all my games straight from the HD.

    I am not use whether the modified BIOSs that I am running will allow Progressive Scan, but they enable everything else, so I imagine so.

    Don't know about DVD playback, but I am sure that Progressive is an option games.
     
  7. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    24,268
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,572
    Jon

    As per Codlords post you can pick up the 'Gamester' High Def pack from Game for around £25-£30 (from memory) - it maybe gives you more than you require though.

    It has a breakout box and then:
    1 x set of three RCA to RCA for Component video
    1 x S-Video cable
    1 x TOSS link digital audio cable
    1 x set of two RCA to RCA for analogue audio.

    Best regards

    Joe
     
  8. Jon Weaver

    Jon Weaver
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2000
    Messages:
    6,041
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Born in Bristol but now in Newport, (for my sins)
    Ratings:
    +657
    Thanks for the info.. I will pop into town later and see if my local 'game' has one.. However, I have a feeling that I am going to get a blank look and an attempt to sell me a normal AV cable, as "its got 3 phonos, so it must be the same"

    I found one on-line in the end for £8.99, but they charge handling, VAT and shipping and the cost soon mounts up.
     
  9. whistlingDogg

    whistlingDogg
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    196
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Wokingham
    Ratings:
    +1
    which plasma did you get in the end>
     
  10. Jon Weaver

    Jon Weaver
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2000
    Messages:
    6,041
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Born in Bristol but now in Newport, (for my sins)
    Ratings:
    +657
    Toshiba 42PW27 (Panasonic Series 5)..

    But its killing me, as its still in the box.. Don't have a stand (yet) and can't take the risk of balancing it temporarily.

    Hopefully will have the stand this week.
     
  11. mikeq

    mikeq
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Jon: just been into Game in Edinburgh for an Advanced SCART (19.99 if anyone needs to know) and they had the High Def pack for 24.99.
     
  12. Jon Weaver

    Jon Weaver
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2000
    Messages:
    6,041
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Born in Bristol but now in Newport, (for my sins)
    Ratings:
    +657
    Thanks for that.. I poped into Game in Newport and predictably I got a blank look when I asked for 'component'.

    I explained what I was looking for and they showed me the normal AV cable.. After all, it had Phonos on it, so it must be the same.

    Fortunatly, I spotted the 'High Def' pack (£24.99) on the rack and showed him the error of his ways.

    But, for £24.99, I decided to buy the one 'on-line' for a total of £12.99 (including shipping and handling).

    Many thanks for your help

    Jon
     
  13. whistlingDogg

    whistlingDogg
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    196
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Wokingham
    Ratings:
    +1
    where did you order it from? i was going to get the official one from dvdboxoffice for £17.
     
  14. Jon Weaver

    Jon Weaver
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2000
    Messages:
    6,041
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Born in Bristol but now in Newport, (for my sins)
    Ratings:
    +657
    Try 'www.videogamecompany.com'.

    They list it as £8.99, but you have to add a handling fee (£1.50), VAT and shipping.

    It worked out at about 12.99

    Jon
     

Share This Page

Loading...