1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Component Board

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by philp_i, Aug 3, 2005.

  1. philp_i

    philp_i
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    Messages:
    92
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Im looking for a component terminal board for my PW6 Plasma could anyone tell me where to get one from and how much these cost?


    Cheers
     
  2. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,532
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +468
  3. philp_i

    philp_i
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    Messages:
    92
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Mep, can i just thankyou for all your help in setting my tv up, is this the right terminal board i need, as in the instruction manual for the tv it has a different model number for the component terminal board?

    Just making sure before i order it as its £65 cheaper from here

    thanks
     
  4. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,532
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +468
    thanks mate, there are two types the bnc connection and the rca connection (this i sprobably the board referred to in your manual TY42TM6Z)......the bnc is cheaper because its from panny commercial as opposed to panny consumer division......if you dont have rca to bnc component cable you will also need to add some rca to bnc adapters to the screen end of the cable but these are only about a fiver and also sold by av sales.
     
  5. philp_i

    philp_i
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    Messages:
    92
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cheers im ordering it now, im just trying to find the rca to bcn adapter from av sales, with no luck at the monent,lol
     
  6. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,532
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +468
  7. ReHaBWales

    ReHaBWales
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    112
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ebuyer sell the BNC component terminal board for about £65...which is nice :)

    Clicky
     
  8. philp_i

    philp_i
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    Messages:
    92
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    i can only see a composite one, is that right? or am i just missing the component one?

    thanks
     
  9. ReHaBWales

    ReHaBWales
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    112
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nope, Your right mate ..they don't seem to have any left :(

    I bought one from there ...a while ago.
     
  10. blair

    blair
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  11. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,735
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +626
    I have to say I bought a 5m one of the Maplin ones as I wanted the BNC connectors and the cable is very good, in fact I swapped the van damme cable I had for my xbox to projector to this as it seemed to be better.
     
  12. blueshard

    blueshard
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    19
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Or do what I've done and get some Thor RCA-BNC leads, so you don't need the adaptors - £25.85 for 1.5m at www.letsautomate.com. I have nothing to compare them to but I have no complaints on PQ - in fact I'd be interested if anyone did have an informed comment.

    One other point - if your PW6 is on a pedestal stand then you'd need to check how much space there is below the board terminals before the presence of the stand means the cable has to bend sharply away. This tends to limit the overall length of the plug that can be accommodated, and with my set-up (PWD7 + TYST42PA20) I suspect that with adaptors on the end I wouldn't actually be able to get the plugs into the board.
     
  13. tetrarch

    tetrarch
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    Messages:
    60
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    When I set up my screen I had the quintro and scart set-up, but cabled-up with a BNC to RCA cable embedded in the wall.

    I am sorry to appear dim but what are the other two plugs for, I assume that they are "sound plugs" and are redundant if you use a separate amp/surround sound.

    Have I got that right ?


    Regards

    Tet
     
  14. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    there are 3 for video Y Pb Pr and 2 for stereo sound L + R
    so on BNC board there are 3 BNC and 2 RCA (audio) and on RCA board 5 RCA (3 video 2 audio)
     

Share This Page

Loading...