Completely lost (need help) setting up Pro-ject Debut III turntable!

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi Stereo Systems & Separates' started by Jottle, Jan 2, 2008.

1. Jottle

Jottle

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I purchased the Pro-ject Debut III turntable as my very first entry level player. It's built very well, but the directions have me completely confused. Does anyone else have this particular model and knows something about setting it up? I'm an ABSOLUTE noob when it comes to this stuff. I'm using the otoform cartridge that comes fitted and ready to go from the factory. I followed the very first page (Setup) of the instructions, and I have the unit functioning. But the needle just skates across the record and doesn't stay put. Do I have to attach the counterweight and the anti-skating weight? The instructions are pretty confusing as the two asterisks (**) make it seem like I don't have to do this when using the factory installed cartridge. So I guess I'm asking, do I attach the counter weight and anti-skating weight as the instruction say in the next couple of sections after the "setup" section? It looks really difficult. (azimut?) I've linked to the directions here:
    http://www.sumikoaudio.net/project/manuals/Debut_III_Manual.pdf

Can anyone who has set up one of these units up using the pre-installed cartridge chime in?

2. lowmans100

lowmans100

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +401
    Don't know the project debut but it shouldn't be much different to any other turntable. I'm old enough to have used turntables before the days of these new fangled CD thingies.

Looking at the manual you need to:

>Fit the supplied weight to the tonearm
    >Fit the cartridge and stylus (remove cover if fitted)
    >Balance the tone arm so that the it is level without the arm rest raised (this is the zero measurement)