1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Complete novice who needs help!

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Buying & Building' started by golf guru, Jan 31, 2005.

1. golf guru

golf guru

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have some idea of what I want, but no idea what systems I need. If anyone out there can help I would be most greatful.

Basically I am having my house reconstructed and at the same time I thought it would be great to have a sound system with all the works installed at the same time while walls are being replastered. I want to be able to listen to different music in different rooms and would like this to run from a hard drive system with key pads in each room

The questions I would like answered would be what hard drive system ?
    what speaker system i.e make and also do I go for wall mounted speakers of ceiling speakers ?
    what make of plasma?

I am also going to have sky + installed so do I actually need a recordable DVD player?

And last question can anybody recommend any firms in the Essex area that would be able to do this ?

A few questions for you ...!!! hope you can help . Ta

P.s Have I missed anything?!!

2. jimsan

jimsan

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +9
    You should try the Home Automation Forum. They'll be able to get you going.
    On the Sky+ question. Sky+ will record TV for your own viewing and is a brilliant system. There are two versions available. One with the standard 40gb disk and one with the 160gb disk. Drawbacks are that you cannot share recordings or archive them with this system. You'd need the DVD recorder for that.

Jimmy

3. wicket

wicket

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +10
    I would have to agree with Jimmy, I wouldn't buy a dvd recorder unless you want to share recordings. Sky+ is the business, I use it all the time and have no need for a dvd recorder.