1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Complete novice wants to create DVD

Discussion in 'Camcorders, Action Cams & Video Editing Forum' started by iamian, Jan 7, 2005.

1. iamian

iamian

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    We got a Canon DV camcorder in the sales, it's pretty good and I can play back through the TV - wow, hardly rocket science - I would like to edit my efforts so far.

By some miracle I've managed to create a short video using Windows Movie Maker which came with XP. All the downloading over firewire, editing, transitions, titles etc. has all been done and for a first attempt I'm pretty happy.
    :lease:
    How do I burn this onto a DVD for domestic use? My PC has a Pioneer DVD-RW DVR-106D and I run Windows XP. I also have some software called Nero.

Tried for about 6 hours now - basically I haven't got a clue!

Anyone offer any advice?

2. klr10

klr10

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +27
    Hi Iamian, you're going to need some DVD authoring software. This will allow you to burn it to DVD in the correct format. There are loads of options out there, I think Ulead are probably one of the cheapest. I'm sure plenty of others will give you some recommendations. They must all be down the pub tonight or I'm sure you'd have had a flurry of responses by now! :D I use Adobe Encore, but it may be a bit OTT for what you need. Hope this helps

3. Brian110507

Brian110507

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes one of the slight drawbacks with Windows Moviemaker is that it cannot burn a DVD and the VCD which it creates can only be viewed on your PC.