1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Complete Novice Please Help...

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by Jellyman_4eva, Dec 20, 2004.

1. Jellyman_4eva

Jellyman_4eva

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all,

This is my first post here so go easy on me...

After dabbling with some LCD Projectors from work (and taking them home for the weekend to watch some movies!), I have decided I would like to purchase one for home permanently. After doing some research however, it became apparent very quickly that a CRT projector is a much better way of doing it (Better colours etc etc - I am sure you guys do not need me to tell you the benefits of CRT projectors!)..

So I have started to look around, on eBay, here and on various other forums, but I am finding it increasingly hard to actually find something which I am confident will work for my situation, so I have come to here for some inspiration.. (and help)

I can never seem to find the same projector being sold twice, they are always different models etc, which causes confusion..

So anyways..

I am looking for a projector which can handle a PC input primarily (15 Pin D-Sub or RGBHV) but also S-Video and other alternatives would be nice... Can a CRT Projector work with a 31Khz signal as opposed to a 15.7Khz standard TV signal?? And what about widescreen? What are the maximum ranges and how do I find out what they actually mean in laymans talk...

I am looking to spend a maximum of approx £500. I shall be projecting onto a wall and the projector will have to be on the floor area (Very weak ceiling in my flat). I know that projectors are not cheap and you get what you pay for.. but I just want something big with better quality than an LCD thats watchable...

How far does a projector have to be away from the screen also? And what are scalers and line doublers??