Complete noob!

rkr87

Novice Member
Reaction score
Evening gents,

I'm planning on treating myself to a living room home cinema setup, but I don't really know where to start.

My plan is to get a screen and a projector.

I was planning on getting a Chromecast to plug directly into the projector as I have a dedicated mb3 (like plex) server in the loft and was only planning on using the projector for movies and some TV shows (Epic ones, more Game of Thrones, less Corrie).

I was only planning on getting a basic sound setup (maybe just a soundbar) as I've had a decent surround sound setup in the past and used it maybe twice in the time I had it.

My planned budget was £1k, but I could probably stretch to £1.3k if there's a substantial upgrade worth it.

Now for what I need you guys for, basically, recommend me a decent setup with in my budget range!

Projector
Screen
A sound suggestion (I will go for surround sound if you guys think there's something decent within my budget)

I was also wasn't sure about the best way to get my audio from my chromecast/projector in to the soundbar or w/e below my screen. I did see some cheap bluetooth audio transmitters/receivers but wasn't sure how good they'd be! I've a feeling they'd maybe put a downer on the whole experience.

Thanks for any help/advice!

OK - from a traditional point of view you are looking at connecting stuff up the wrong way.

The "standard" way to connect everything up would be to plug the Chromecast into an AVR (along with any of your other sources - SKY, Blu Ray etc) and use this to feed the video to the PJ and deal with the audio itself.

I have no experience of using Chromecast but I would imagine that you may struggle with wireless connectivity if you are looking to stream high bit rate movies.

Getting a Screen, PJ, AVR and Speakers for your budget will be tight but is possible -

OPTOMA HD141X (PJ) £ 480
Sapphire SWS240WSF-ASR2 (106inch SCREEN) £ 200
Yamaha RXV677 & Tannoy HTS101 (AVR & Speakers) £ 630