Complete noob to av receivers- help much appreciated

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by bushmonkey-ps3, Jan 29, 2009.

  1. bushmonkey-ps3

    bushmonkey-ps3
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +0
    First and foremost i wish to apologise if i have missed a sticky that will explain this. Using forums elsewhere, i know how annoying it is answering the same question a million times.

    Ok, so i am saving up to kit out my large bedroom with hopefully:

    LG377000 LCD 100hz
    Pioneer VSX-918V
    Some speakers of reasonable quality (will have about £250)

    My question is one about HDMI inputs and outputs.
    I recently read that optical will not support Dolby truHD. So i figured i will connect the PS3 up to the receiver by HDMI. This is fine, but once it is decoded by the receiver, will i have to run HDMI to the speakers?

    Basically, does it matter about the "post decoding" connections?

    All help much appreciated.
    Gav
     
  2. Jez1

    Jez1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Messages:
    485
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cheltenham
    Ratings:
    +23
    I believe not. The amp decodes the HD-audio and sends it to the speakers down normal speaker cable, I believe.
     
  3. ChrisAV

    ChrisAV
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    766
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Wirral
    Ratings:
    +110
    Hi, and welcome to AVForums.

    The PS3 can't Bitstream the HD audio to the amp, so you need to get the PS3 to decode it and output it using LPCM over HDMI. Just make sure amp accepts LPCM (most do).

    Speakers just connect to the amp with regular speaker cable, no need for HDMI.

    Chris
     
  4. bushmonkey-ps3

    bushmonkey-ps3
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +0
    Awesome for the quick replies!

    So, in conclusion, the data coming into the amp need to be through HDMI to recieve truHD, but the output can be standard speaker cables?
    There is no need for me to spend loads of money on an amp with several HDMI outs?

    (you'll both get thanks)
     
  5. SwampieUK

    SwampieUK
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Ahh, no - the HDMI out is purely for the video really. More outputs mean things like TV and projector or similar.

    The HDMI, with respect to audio, is only used to get the audio into the amp, once it gets to the amp, it's pretty much treated as any other audio input to the amp, and therefore comes out the normal speaker outputs.
     
  6. bushmonkey-ps3

    bushmonkey-ps3
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +0
    thankyou very much to everyone...

    I think we can call this thread closed now.
    thankyou very much to all.
     
  7. bushmonkey-ps3

    bushmonkey-ps3
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +0
    New QUESTION.

    Didn't want to start up a new thread, so will add to this one instead.

    In your opinions, will an amplifier not having THXselect2 and ultra 2 be a problem to me?
    Especially when you bear in mind i am planning on running LPCM from a ps3 to an amp with DTS/truHD decoding.

    cheers,
     
  8. ChrisAV

    ChrisAV
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    766
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Wirral
    Ratings:
    +110
    Not sure to be honest, doesn't ultra 2 specify 7.1 with dipole side surrounds (so if you haven't got this the not an issue:D). I'm also not sure whether it is tied to HD, if it is then you would need the PS3 to decode it anyway.

    I think only the more expensive amps support this anway, I guess it'll be more widespread in a couple of years.

    Chris
     
  9. bushmonkey-ps3

    bushmonkey-ps3
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +0
    cheers,
    i didnt think it would pose a problem.

    Thanks for everyones help
     
  10. Jez1

    Jez1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Messages:
    485
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cheltenham
    Ratings:
    +23
    Enjoy the new kit, there are plenty here who will advise you on good value amps to get for your setup (I don't have HD audio sources so can't claim to be one of them!) so do ask more questions as and when, and don't worry about asking questions - in a few weeks/months you'll be advising others so it's all karma :thumbsup:
     
  11. bushmonkey-ps3

    bushmonkey-ps3
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +0
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2009
  12. Jez1

    Jez1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Messages:
    485
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cheltenham
    Ratings:
    +23
    Looks like decent kit, though like I said I'm no expert on the latest and greatest so I'll defer to others.
     
  13. Jez1

    Jez1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Messages:
    485
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cheltenham
    Ratings:
    +23
    The amp doesn't need a True HD decoder as long as it can take LPCM over HDMI (I've been learning my buzzwords!)
     
  14. ChrisAV

    ChrisAV
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    766
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Wirral
    Ratings:
    +110
    Just on the off chance someone who doesn't own a PS3 (or even those who do) wants to connect another bit of kit that doesn't have onboard decoding! :D

    Chris
     
  15. bushmonkey-ps3

    bushmonkey-ps3
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +0
    ahh, ok.

    This has really helped me decide which amp to go for.
    I still have no idea what speakers, but i will look around the "speaker" section for that =]

    cheers.
     

Share This Page

Loading...