1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Complete Noob needs a little help

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by scoot1on1, Apr 30, 2005.

1. scoot1on1

scoot1on1
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +5
    Hi
    Ive been reading the forum for a few days now, and I've read so much im now completely baffled.
    My problem is I purchased a Toshiba ET1 and a panasonic SC-HT520, I wish to ceiling mount the projector, and connect this to the Tv, DVD, Video and Sky+ box.
    My Tv only has 1 Scart and a red, white, yellow input and output.
    I would like to have as few wires as possible coming from the projector, and any information on how any of you peeps run the wires along the ceiling, and what pitfalls there are, would be of great help.
    Is there a box that all the scarts can connect to and one cable runs to the projector? and this can switch between Tv and Projector.

All help greatly received as I dont know my composite from my s-video :)

Thanks in advance

Jon

2. Oakleyspatz

Oakleyspatz

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +230
    your pj has an RBG scart which is great for your needs.You can indeed buy a scart switching box ( try Dixons) which has remote control for switching for around £50. The red, white and yellow connection is best avoided for picture quality as it's very poor. ( The yellow is for image the red and white are for sound).
    Get a long scart ( about 5 metres) and place the pj near a back wall if possible so you can run the scart down the wall behind some cable guttering you can buy from a diy shop or do the same along the ceiling. Paint the guttering the same colour as your wall/ceiling and it should be fairly descrete.

3. drunknmunky

drunknmunky

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0