complete newbie

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by rich1231, Dec 28, 2001.

1. rich1231

rich1231

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi there,

I am thinking of getting a projector set up in my appartment but i havnt got a clue what i should be looking for.

It will be used mainly for watching films and very rarely sports events and some TV.

The local AV shops near me (Im in Southend, Essex, UK) dont really have good projector installation experience, and their demonstration equipment leaves alot to be desired.

I was lucky enough to see a SIM2 HT 200 demoing today and Shrek looked stunning, can this pic quality be achieved by cheaper projectors?

Also are there any dealers tha will visit my flat with a selection of projectors to make comparisons?

Sorry for the rambling.

Any pointers appreciated.

Rich

2. leon

leon

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +67
    hello and welcome to a mine field :)
    i think first thing you should tell us is your budget ?
    adn what you need to do is find a projector and screen and cables that fit into the over all budget .
    i think i went to a hifi shop in Essex,it used to do lazer discs then dvd ,cant remember the name now ,
    i think there are 3 main types of projector that might work for you
    1 /lcd
    2/dlp
    3/crt
    for ease of use go for a dlp or lcd .if you are using a dedicated room and money is not a problem then crt will do .
    lcd and dlp are designed for ease of setup is kind of aim fire and watch :) crt will involve alot more settiing up .
    sony have a new projector out called the sonyvpl11ht and the 10ht are going down in price alot ,budget around £3000 to £5000 for these items . there are loads of types out there and many manufactures so what i would do is go to see as many as you can and make your own mind up ,because its you that is watching it .