Complete newbie needs help please!

jason44mag

Prominent Member
Reaction score
Hi Team,

I am in that unenviable position where my son thinks his dad knows everything about everything and is asking for a laptop that is good for gaming :-(

We (as a family) are mainly apple users but he loves plying steam games which are limited in availability on the Steam for Mac app so we thought we would look into a windows laptop that he could use to play games as well as use at his new school (finally at big school!).

I have no idea where to start and frankly the custom built PC rigs are probably too much for his needs right now so i wondered if anyone could offer some advice around:
1) does a laptop that can be used for gaming and general work exist?
2) if so, where do they live :)
3) if not, should i be looking for an inexpensive desktop system?

Thanks in advance and i hope you will forgive the entry level q's!

J

Are any of your Mac's x86 based ?, you can install windows on it via bootcamp and play games from steam that way. If you have Arm based Mac's then its not possible.

If you have an x86 Mac there are also external GPU's you can attach to the computer that will increase its graphics performance.

For PC gaming laptop it depends on how much your willing to spend, what's your limit.

1) A gaming PC will do office work, although battery run times will be less than a office laptop as GPUs use more power even when idle
2) Shops
3) A desktop gaming system will outperform a laptop system and be upgradeable. For example I fitted a 1TB NVME gumstick drive to my 10 year old desktop PC, and it runs pretty fast (PCI-E) You couldn't do that with a laptop. I can also fit multiple hard drives. Or replace GPU, or PSU, or upgrade to the fastest CPU the motherboard supports. Or replace stock HSF with large tower & fan, or watercooling.

Another option would be buy a cheap office laptop, starting from a Chromebook to a £300-£400 laptop (or second hand) then a desktop PC for games.