1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Complete newbie in need of help

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by NiGHTS, Nov 22, 2004.

1. NiGHTS

NiGHTS

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi, as you can see this is my first ever post, so go easy on me. :)

I know you're probably sick of all the 'n00bs' asking questions, but I thought I may as well give it a shot anyway seeing as you guys obviously know your stuff.

Right, so I bought this (http://www.electricalscentre.com/acatalog/36_PICTURE_FRAME_3_TVS.html) TV after a lot of researching into a lot of other sets. It hasn't arrived yet though, so I've got a little bit of time to buy some bits and pieces I need to set it up. This is where I need some of your collective expertise.

Basically, I don't really know anything when it comes to the sound/cabling (Plus anything else important) side of things. I don't know the difference between an amp and a reciever (If there is a difference at all! :p ), I'm not sure which cables are best...nothing. So I need you (If possible) to basically give me a beginners guide (Jargon free if possible :p ) to the whole thing (Pros/Cons regarding different types of equipment, cabling, etc) along with some recommendations for equipment I should buy and where I could get it from.

This new system is basically going to be a gaming sancturary for the most part if that makes an sort of difference. I know I'm going to need one of those scart block things due to the huge amount of scart cables from all the consoles, so could you recommend me some of these too if possible.