1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Complete Newbie after some plasma advise

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by kinkladze10, Mar 31, 2005.

1. kinkladze10

kinkladze10
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all, found this site and hoping someone could give me some advise.

I'm looking to get a plasma, been after one for a while and have finally got the funds for it now I'm moving house.

I've been and had a look in the shops and I have to be honest dont really know what I'm looking for, I'd like a 42" widescreen but sales staff havent really helped me in terms of features and benefits.

I know I can get a better deal online but have heard some horror stories so just wondered if you anyone could tell me what the entry level spec would be and what does what, I like look of the sony wega's but looks arent everything.
    Also if someone could point me in the direction of some quality suppliers.

I'd like to get it wall mounted, understand I need to buy a bracket for it
    but does this mean there are trailing wires running down from the wall to the base unit?
    I dont really want to hollow out the wall and fill it as the girlfriend will go ape with all the mess it causes and if we move house I dont want to have to dig the wall out again and fill it back in just to get the wires back.

I'm also after a decent surround sound dvd system that is multi region enabled
    I've the seen the sony DAV SR4 system and I like the ones where the speakers already come on stands but as I already own a Sony DAVS800 I know they almost impossbile to enable for multi region.

final point budget for a plasma is about £3500 and DVD player approx £750

thanks in advance

2. phillfyspoon

phillfyspoon
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +76