1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Complete Newb to HTPC !

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by richjthorpe, Dec 8, 2004.

1. richjthorpe

richjthorpe

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +13
    Hi all,

Can anyone point me in the right direction for a description of parts needed for a HTPC. I keep reading about TV capture cards, Graphics cards, DScaler etc but I don't know whether I need a Capture card and GPU or just GPU or what !?

What I intend to do is upscale a digibox signal before passing through to an LCD panel (HDTV ready). I don't want to spend too much (Although as with anything you get what you pay for I suppose). I don't need a HD recorder at the moment as we already have one, but might upgrade to one in the future.

I'm guessing that I need a PC to kick off, probably around 2.8Ghz, what is recomended in memory terms ?

If I wanted to input 2 video signals (Only thing I've found out is that capture cards only take Composite or S-Video not RGB) does that mean I need 2 cards and would I be able to auto switch between them and not have to go into the System to change it manually ?

Appologies if this has been asked before, please direct me to where ever needed if it has !

Thanks,

Richie.

2. KraGorn

KraGorn

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +27
    Some first steps. :)

1) A P4 2.8 is probably okay for scaling, a bit more could be useful.
    2) 512Mb of memory should be fine.
    3) A Sweetspot capture card can take RGB as well as S-Video input, I used one for my NTL set-top box.
    4) DScaler is the software that takes the signal from Sweetspot, processes it (such as scaling, de-interlacing etc.) and then uses the graphics card to display it.
    5) GPU means Graphics Processing Unit .. the 'CPU' present on the graphics card, this is what ATI and NVidia make, like Intel and AMD make CPUs.