1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Complete Beginner needs help

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi Stereo Systems & Separates' started by alba77, Dec 29, 2002.

1. alba77

alba77

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm a complete beginner in the Hi-fi world and am lucky enough to have some cash to spend. I would like to start a system from scratch, and if possible, since I have limited space, I would like as much quality as possible packed into as few boxes as possible. I would like to include in my system a flat screen TV, dvd, and all the usual things.

My question is, where do I start? With the TV? With the DVD system? Does anyone have any suggestions for the whole lot?

2. buns

buns
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    Budget?

ad

3. alba77

alba77

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Budget - good point!

I have about £8000 to spend, but obviously I won't blow it all if I don't have to!

4. karkus30

karkus30
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1,236
    Dont rush is my advice. Whats more important to you, films or music ?. If the visual side is more important, is this for films or broadcasts, maybe a projector or plasma might be of interest? this would blow a big hole in your budget.

Are you really into music, or is it just the occasional bit of Kylie, while you do something in another room. How loud do you like to listen, what about neighbours, family, Kids etc.

Work out whats more important, and what constraints are in place, then you can start deciding how to spend your money.

5. Tejpal

Tejpal

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    you should be able to fit a 42"+ plasma screen, about £3500.
    maybe a servo 15 sub. b&w DM603 front/ LCR600 centre and 3x DM601, about £3000 inc cables
    plus £1k for an amp..

that should b nice...