1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Compatablity of (HDCP) HDMI DVD output to DVI PJ

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Starkiller, May 11, 2005.

  1. Starkiller

    Starkiller
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Messages:
    202
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +3
    Im looking a 2 DVD players Arcam 79 and the Denon 3910 to conect to my existing themescene H56

    I wanted to connect digtally via DVI or HDMI with dvi convertor

    The PJ is capable of HDTV, but ive been advised that both the 79 & 3910 players use HDCP output(if i understand this correctly) and is not compatable with the DVI input on the themescene.

    Can this be fixed or worked arround so i can get a digtal signal in to my PJ?
    :lease:
     
  2. John Dawson

    John Dawson
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2001
    Messages:
    852
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
    Ratings:
    +112
    If your Themesecene does not have HDCP there is no workaround - sorry. HDCP is a copy protection algorithm which is mandatory on the HDMI or DVI outputs of DVD players. You could talk to the PJ maker to see if they can help; it's very unlikely but you never know.

    Otherwise use the component input of the PJ; it will still give a very decent picture from either of these DVD players.

    John Dawson (Arcam)
     
  3. Starkiller

    Starkiller
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Messages:
    202
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +3
    Thanks for the reply, not what i wanted to hear but least i know.

    I will ask my retailer if the H56 can be "flash upgraded" or modified, my guess is no, but its worth asking.

    I guess i will have to go componet

    Its a shame when copy protection gets in the way of quality. Im sure if someone wanted to copy a disk they would just use a PC.
     
  4. Phil Harris

    Phil Harris
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Might be a silly question, but I shall ask it anyway....
    Is the HDCP protection applied to all material played, or only to material with it built in?
    For instance, I have a TV with a DVI input, if I was to buy an HDMI DVD player, would I be able to play DVD's from my current collection, none of which have any protection on them?
    I would be interested to use a purely digital interface between DVD and TV, so should I look for a player where the HDCP can be turned off (Samsung 745)?
    Thanks in anticipation...
    Phil.
     
  5. John Dawson

    John Dawson
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2001
    Messages:
    852
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
    Ratings:
    +112
    HDCP is usually applied when the DVD "asks" for copy protection to be applied, so your home movies should work OK with a non-HDCP DVI connection. Under these circumstances Macrovision analogue copy protection is also usually turned off.

    HTH.

    John Dawson (Arcam)
     
  6. Starkiller

    Starkiller
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Messages:
    202
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +3
    John

    This HDCP is fustrating, having spent £3000 on a PJ and screen last year and now needing to upgrade cuz its not got the industrys "lastest brain wave" is pretty rough.

    Im reluctant to spend £1000 on dvd player and not be able to uses its main feature.

    reading thu your 79's manual, I see there is a option to switch Output priorty to Analogue from HDMI/DVI, if this was selected can you use a hdmi/dvi lead but get an analogue signal?

    Dave
     
  7. PJTX100

    PJTX100
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Messages:
    8,129
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +562
    There are other DVD players around where the HDCP can be turned off, so unless you have your heart set on the Arcam or Denon then there are alternatives...PJ :)
     
  8. Starkiller

    Starkiller
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Messages:
    202
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +3
    I had got my heart set on the arcam(I wanted a matched pair with the AV300 amp), but im open to suggestions.

    can you say what the Alternatives are, i guess one is in your signature
     

Share This Page

Loading...