Compared Oppo 981 to pioneer 868i

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by kazino21, Jan 4, 2007.

  1. kazino21

    kazino21
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    681
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    I bought an Oppo dvd player just to see what all the fuss was about, it arrived and it is a very good package for the price. After calibrating the tv with the video essentials disk, out of the box the player's contrast and colour are very high compared to the pioneer. Colours and contrast are very very good. However the edges are very jagged in certain scenes compared to the pioneer and I don't see any changes whatsoever when you try upscaling or turn the faroudja processing on/off. This aside though on a smaller screen (was tested on a 50" pioneer plasma) the edges will not be so blitheringly obvious and it would be an excellent player.
     
  2. KinkyAffro

    KinkyAffro
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    Messages:
    1,508
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +164

    Would you like to sell me the 981 then please :hiya:
    First refusal :lease:
     
  3. Sigismund

    Sigismund
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,535
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +102
    Hi there. :) Something doesn't sound quite right there - I have used an Oppo 971 outputting to a Sony HS60 and onto a 90" screen and I got no noticeable jaggies, and for me there was an obvious difference when DCDi was turned off. :confused: Is your plasma screen's native resolution 720p?
     
  4. Smurkenstein

    Smurkenstein
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    525
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +28
    Mine was very jaggy and rubbish out of the box and the auto pal/NTSC setting kept forcing me to NTSC. Once I forced it to ouput pal, then moved up to 1080p (or 1080i) all my troubles were gone :)
     
  5. kick ass sub

    kick ass sub
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Messages:
    229
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Antwerp
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi

    next week my 891 will arrive and I had question. I'm planning on upscaling to 1080p even though my HD70 can only perform 1080i and 720p resolution. Will my HD70 still be able to receive the 1080p signal even when it is converted to 720p later?
     
  6. kazino21

    kazino21
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    681
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    My screen is a Samsung 40" LCD, but I had done the comparison on my friends Pioneer as I took the Oppo over to his and obviously being on a higher quality screen any problems or strenghts would be easier to see. The native on my screen is 720p, I have it forced onto PAL aswell, I understand from the manual what DCD is meant to do and I have looked for these things but can't see them. Maybe there is a scene in star wars (I have all the discs) that you can tell me what to look out for in the changes DCDi can make. Also what is the difference you can see when you upscale with the OPPO?
     
  7. james_uk9

    james_uk9
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    758
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Ratings:
    +28
    Highly unlikely, the fact that your tv doesnt do 1080p means exactly that. It cannot receive a 1080p signal and then downscale to 720.
     
  8. kick ass sub

    kick ass sub
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Messages:
    229
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Antwerp
    Ratings:
    +2
    so the image will be just black when I try to run a 1080p signal to my HD70?
     
  9. Nic Rhodes

    Nic Rhodes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    17,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1,276
    Player needs to be set to video 2
     
  10. mray

    mray
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2,772
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +234
    Yes. That's what I got on a Sagem 720p DLP TV. (A black screen).
     
  11. kazino21

    kazino21
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    681
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    What exaclty does video 2 and video 1 turn off in the unit? doesn't give too much info in the manual...
     
  12. Sigismund

    Sigismund
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,535
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +102
    There's some info here - although it relates to the Oppo OPDV971H I think things are pretty much the same. :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...