Comet write off RE Lamp Unit

remlap

Established Member
Reaction score
RE Below I posted in another thread but I do not want to hijack that persons thread any more.

So we have an engineer coming out on Tuesday, recently the warning light has started flashing to signal the lamp is coming to the end of its usage life.

On the notes to the engineer when we phoned, we have asked the phone operator to list both model numbers listed in the back section of the manual they are:

RL1280A and SAGEM 251614834.

Now I assume if they arrive with just a new lamp and not the full unit, they have to replace the currently blown fuse for a new one to reset the timing counter on the TV set, just to spoof the set into thinking its a new full unit.

I'm not very technically minded in this, but I am at home Tuesday and dont want the guy pulling the wool over my eyes.

After various call outs, Comet service engineer was supplied with the wrong lamp unit, he then refused to fit it because it not a direct replacement.

Now after further phone calls with Comet and Domestic and General we are about to be offered a new Television, because Comet is unable to source a direct replacement even though they are easily found on-line through a Google search.

What suppliers do Domestic and General use for the replacement Televisions and is there any likely model it will be, because we have not been given this at the moment.

What would to do people here suggest would be a suitable replacement for the TV:

Sagem HDD50HG4T

Any suggestion for a close replacement in terms of specification in terms of resolution, contrast and viewing angle Plasma, LCD or Rear Projection.

Thank you for replies.

Hi,

If you have a D&G warranty bought through Comet (normally after 1 year) then the replacement will come from Comet or they may just give you a voucher card. Normally with these when I used to work there for my sins there was a corporate number we had to ring which was D&G kinked into Comet's stock system.