CodeYear.com

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by aholgate, Jan 10, 2012.

  1. aholgate

    aholgate
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    136
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +13
    Hi All,

    Was wondering if anyone has signed up for codeyear.com?

    It is a web base tutorial that teaches beginners how to write and understand different programs codes. I believe today is the 1st week and its java script. Having no exposure to java script before I found the lessons very simple to understand and am looking forward to the coming weeks.

    While I am aware there are a few experienced coders on this forum, i think this is extremely useful for beginners and maybe teenagers.

    I have also signed my sister up (she's 12) and she's enjoyed working through today's lessons with me although I wasnt needed much! I think it will give her a great start in life if she can get a head of her class mates in IT.
     
  2. Naaktgeboren

    Naaktgeboren
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Messages:
    8,286
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Kashyyyk
    Ratings:
    +6,309
    My eldest son has completed the first set which was emailed to him yesterday, very useful exercises, bound to be a good stepping stone for when he starts secondary school to know a little programming.

    Maybe I shouldnt have offered him cash if he completes the course :rotfl:
     
  3. Marc

    Marc
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2004
    Messages:
    11,723
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Titchfield
    Ratings:
    +1,101
    i signed up to it, even though i've got a fair bit of programming experience already, just to see how complicated it gets after a few months. Plus it's teaching you javascript which is a language i never bothered to learn so maybe it will be helpful :)

    an experienced as i am, i managed to crash my browser on one of the tests :D by accidentally typing do.. while.. 1< 4 instead of i < 4, so the code kept looping, using up all my CPU and RAM :laugh:
     
  4. pandemic

    pandemic
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    4,578
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,167
    Never tried javascript either, the lessons are pretty decent for beginners. But I found quite a few false positives, where it is possible to write the 'wrong' code but the test thinks it's right.
     
  5. aholgate

    aholgate
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    136
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +13
    I found the same thing, also on afew I tried them out on the scratch pad and they worked fine but not always in the lesson. :(
     
  6. Andyh4324

    Andyh4324
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,602
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Bit of land next to the sea
    Ratings:
    +319
    Just signed up. Never tried any coding before so should be nice to learn something new.
     
  7. qwerty321

    qwerty321
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Messages:
    8,052
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,583
    Might show this to my brother.

    He spends a lot of time on the computer so I decided he should learn some programming (Im a Software Developer myself). I wasnt as kind as a weekly email though. Dumped him infront a copy of Visual Basic Express and some tutorials. :D
     
  8. SadR0bot

    SadR0bot
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    416
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +29
    I'm going to encourage my 10 year old to have a go at this, she's very bright and it can't hurt to give her an idea of what its all about.
     
  9. Singh400

    Singh400
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Messages:
    17,858
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Earth
    Ratings:
    +3,370
    Why not. Even though it's for kids, it could teach me something. On a side note, I started learning Python out of interest late last year.
     
  10. njdbaxter

    njdbaxter
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3,802
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +364
    im stuck on lesson 3 part 5

    Try creating a new variable called myFullName with your first and last names.

    help? :(
     
  11. Foebane72

    Foebane72
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2006
    Messages:
    3,402
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Ratings:
    +279
    I've developed many programs over the years but haven't done much coding in the last five years, mainly because I can't think of any ideas that haven't already been done.

    I've developed stuff in BASIC (VB, BBC, Atari, AMOS), Pascal, C and COBOL so I wouldn't mind if anyone could recommend some free developing software or even just compilers, but I would like to make Windows programs - that is, programs that run in a window. I did have Delphi 3 for years, but lost it due to an accident and I really miss it now. I have an incomplete fractal landscape generator which will have to be rewritten unless I can get hold of Delphi 3 in a torrent or something.
     
  12. Foebane72

    Foebane72
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2006
    Messages:
    3,402
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Ratings:
    +279
    Something like:

    LET JOEBLOGGS=0

    Maybe?
     
  13. njdbaxter

    njdbaxter
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3,802
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +364
    can do the first part of the name but not the full name

    > var MyName
    > myName = "James"
    ==> James

    Var myFullJames . . . . . . .. whats next?
     
  14. imightbewrong

    imightbewrong
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    51,541
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Romford-ish
    Ratings:
    +31,451
    what's the language? javascript?
    it looks like it's expecting you to create a string with your first and last names in it
     
  15. imightbewrong

    imightbewrong
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    51,541
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Romford-ish
    Ratings:
    +31,451
    myName = "James Bond"
    ?
     
  16. Cyland101

    Cyland101
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2007
    Messages:
    883
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +87
    Thanks for that, I will show it to my 10 year old and let him have a go.
     
  17. njdbaxter

    njdbaxter
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3,802
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +364

    got it cheers
     
  18. Foebane72

    Foebane72
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2006
    Messages:
    3,402
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Ratings:
    +279
    I don't know Javascript. Doesn't the declaration of a variable require the colon as well as the equals?

    Like: NAME:='JAMES BOND'

    ?
     
  19. imightbewrong

    imightbewrong
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    51,541
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Romford-ish
    Ratings:
    +31,451
    no - it's a c-style language so just uses = for assignment (not to be confused == for equality testing)
     
  20. FruitBat

    FruitBat
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2003
    Messages:
    3,303
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Ealing
    Ratings:
    +379
    or === even.
     
  21. FruitBat

    FruitBat
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2003
    Messages:
    3,303
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Ealing
    Ratings:
    +379
    If you've done VB and C, I'd recommend the Microsoft Express editions (VB and/or C#). I'll find a link...


    EDIT: Lastest versions here: http://www.microsoft.com/visualstudio/en-us/products/2010-editions/express
     
  22. imightbewrong

    imightbewrong
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    51,541
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Romford-ish
    Ratings:
    +31,451
    true, == is type-less, === is strongly-typed

    javascript does have a few more comparison operators to confuse the new-comer, that's for sure
     
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2012
  23. njdbaxter

    njdbaxter
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3,802
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +364
    so far i have

    > var myString = "hello"
    > "hello".substring(0,2)
    ==> he
    > var three = "Neil".substring(0,3)

    now i have to Try changing a string to all upper case letters, but keep getting it wrong
     
  24. Marc

    Marc
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2004
    Messages:
    11,723
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Titchfield
    Ratings:
    +1,101
    "string".toUpperCase()

    i think it was something like that

    a few of the instructions aren't clear enough for beginners, as sometimes parenthesis are needed even with nothing inside them and it doesn't explain that.
     
  25. imightbewrong

    imightbewrong
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    51,541
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Romford-ish
    Ratings:
    +31,451
    what do you have so far for that?
     
  26. njdbaxter

    njdbaxter
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3,802
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +364

    thats not it, this is really p'ing me off
     
  27. imightbewrong

    imightbewrong
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    51,541
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Romford-ish
    Ratings:
    +31,451
    anything that 'does something' is called a function (or method) and needs parenthesis - even if there are no arguments

    "string".toUpperCase()

    should do the trick - what happens if you do that? error?
     
  28. njdbaxter

    njdbaxter
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3,802
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +364
    TypeError: Object doesn't support property or method 'toUppercase'
     
  29. Marc

    Marc
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2004
    Messages:
    11,723
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Titchfield
    Ratings:
    +1,101
    it's case sensitive, try toUpperCase
     
  30. FruitBat

    FruitBat
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2003
    Messages:
    3,303
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Ealing
    Ratings:
    +379
    toUpperCase, not toUppercase
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice