Codecs, additional content etc. - HD-DVD vs Blu-Ray

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by twocars, Aug 6, 2006.

1. twocars

twocars

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Good day to you!

Having read a lot on this forum and others, I have come to the conclusion that both HD-DVD and Blu-Ray are potentially great formats. All of the bugs people have written about so far, will eventually get corrected, and better software and hardware will come out. Still there is a topic that I find important, but which I rarely see discussed. Codecs.

Having listened to a debate over at Major Nelson at Microsoft, concerning the two formats, I started playing around with the thought of Blu-Ray discs with VC-1 coded content, not with the current, less efficient MPEG-2. The day this happens, and both the stablity of the BD50 and the pricepoint becomes satisfactory, I think HD-DVD will have some serious competition.

Right now, I'm sitting on the fence, waiting to purchase either format until both are released worldwide. The PS3 will definately boost the sales of Blu-Ray content, as gamers, once they have the new console, will begin to appreciate the added functionality of the machine.

That said, the external HD-DVD player for the Xbox 360 will also make an impact, at least if it's cheap enough. Still, I think the thought of having to pay extra for a movie-only periphial might loose over a built in one, ready out-of-the-box.

Currently, I am most impressed with HD-DVD, but not to the extent that I foolishly and prematurely would announce it to be the winner.

In the end, what it all comes down to is price and content, with content being the key factor.